Indigenous Languages

Database Searches

ERIC:
Kw searches: “Indigenous language revival Canada”: 11 hits; “Indigenous language revitalization Canada”: 23 hits; “indigenous language planning Canada”: 40 results; Subject “Language planning” + Indigenous + Canada: 7 results.

iPortal:
kw: “language revitalization”: 63 results; “language planning”: 10 results.

Alternative Press Index:
Su: “Native American Languages:” 143 results

(Searches as of February 2020)

Databases

Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library.
License Information coming soon!

Alternative Press Index
Provides access to the practices and theories of radical social change, and focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
Frontier Life
"“There is a large array of document types published on this site including correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets. The earliest documents are from the seventeenth century and the latest the mid-point of the twentieth century.”
Champlain Society Archives
"“Since its founding in 1905, The Champlain Society has sought to make available significant and interesting documents in Canadian history. At different times over the years, the Society has worked in cooperation first with the Hudson's Bay Company and then the Ontario Government to produce series of volumes on themes of mutual interest. The Society's publication program continues with the General Series, presenting key and often little-known documents on an aspect of the Canadian experience, edited and introduced by an expert in the field. Under the guidance of the Society's General Editor, the series is an accessible, engaging, and informed source for the study of Canada.”

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Formerly the Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. It contains citations dating from the sixteenth century to the present for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.

America: History and Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, and is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Sample search: Indigenous
JSTOR
In advanced search, limit to "American Indian Studies"

Journals

Language Policy: 253 results “Indigenous”
Journal of Language, Identity and Education: 129 results, “indigenous”
Language and Education: 212 results, “indigenous”

(Searches as of February 2020)

Copyright

Databases Terms of Use