Library Help Chat Skip to Main Content

Experiential Learning

This guide will help students find and access library resources related to experiential and service learning.

Key Journals

Action Learning: Research and Practice "... publish[es] articles which advance knowledge and assist the development of practice through the processes of action learning. Articles should aim to create theory, grounded in empirical observation of data and experience, that widens understanding of action learning and research in professional and organisational settings. "
Educational Action Research "This journal publishes accounts of a range of action research and related studies, in education and across the professions, with the aim of making their outcomes widely available and exemplifying the variety of possible styles of reporting. It aims to establish and maintain a review of the literature of action research. It also provides a forum for dialogue on the methodological and epistemological issues, enabling different approaches to be subjected to critical reflection and analysis."
Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-based Learning "... publishes relevant, interesting, and challenging peer-reviewed articles of research, analysis, or promising practice related to all aspects of implementing problem-based learning (PBL) in K–12 and post-secondary classrooms."
Journal of Adventure Education and Outdoor Learning "... an official publication of the Institute for Outdoor Learning. The main purpose of the journal is to provide a central point and place of reference for the publication and dissemination of research and scholarship on adventure and the outdoors as media for learning, as well as recreation. "
Journal of Experiential Education "...an international, peer-reviewed journal publishing refereed articles on experiential education in diverse contexts. "
Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement "The mission of the JHEOE is to serve as the premier peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal to advance theory and practice related to all forms of outreach and engagement between higher education institutions and communities."
Journal of Transformative Education "... is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal focused on advancing the understanding, practice, and experience of transformative education. JTED offers articles that test, build on, and elaborate existing theoretical perspectives; demonstrate innovative and creative applications of the theory in practice; and explore the international and cross-cultural issues of the theory and practice of transformative learning."

Key Databases

ERIC [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides access to education-related literature including coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Education Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education.
PsycInfo [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains abstracts of peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the disciplines of behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage spaning from the 1800s to the present in dozens of languages.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by Taylor & Francis, and also includes imprints like Routledge, Psychology Press, CRC Press and Garland Science. It primarily contains material across a range of disciplines from Social Science and Humanities.

The Alternative Press Index
Nearly 5,000 hits with subject heading "global warming."