Border Rhetoric
This research guide provides an overview of key library resources related to the rhetoric and discourse of borders, land, and citizenship.
Librarian
Overview
The Border Rhetoric research guide provides an extensive resource for exploring the rhetoric and public discourse around borders, land, citizenship, and identity, as well as their representations in media and popular culture. This guide includes curated links to academic sources, including books, journals, and databases related to this timely topic. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me using the profile links on the left.
Other research guides that may be useful include:
Example Resources
Crossing Borders, Drawing Boundaries by ISBN: 1607324032Publication Date: 2016With growing anxiety about American identity fueling debates about the nation's borders, ethnicities, and languages, Crossing Borders, Drawing Boundaries provides a timely and important rhetorical exploration of divisionary bounds that divide an Us from a Them.
Borderlands/ La Frontera by Call Number: PS3551 .N95 B6 2007ISBN: 1879960745Publication Date: 2007"... the essays and poems in this volume profoundly challenged how we think about identity. Borderlands/La Frontera remapped our understanding of what a "border" is, seeing it not as a simple divide between here and there, us and them, but as a psychic, social, and cultural terrain that we inhabit, and that inhabits all of us."
- International Newsstream [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowInternational Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal.
- Journal of Borderlands Studies"The distinctive purpose of Journal of Borderlands Studies as an international journal is to publish original research covering the development of theories and concepts, methodological perspectives, empirical analysis and policy debate in the field of border studies. The journal is a interdisciplinary forum, which showcases diverse perspectives and analytical techniques."
- Brunet-Jailly, E. (2005). Theorizing Borders: An Interdisciplinary Perspective. Geopolitics, 10(4), 633–649.From the Abstract: "The current renewed interest in the study of borders and borderlands is paralleled by a growing concern and debate on the possibility of a border model, or models, and of a border theory, or theories. Certainly, there is a new attention to theoretical consideration and discussion that could help sharpen our understanding of borders. In this essay, I argue that a model or general framework is helpful for understanding borders, and I suggest a theory of borders."
- Newman, D. (2006). Borders and Bordering: Towards an Interdisciplinary Dialogue. European Journal of Social Theory, 9(2), 171-186.From the Abstract: "The renaissance of border studies during the past decade has been characterized by a crossing of disciplinary borders, bringing together geographers, political scientists, sociologists, anthropologists, historians, literary scholars, legal experts, along with border practitioners engaged in the practical aspects of boundary demarcation, delimitation and management. This growth in border studies runs contrary to much of the globalization discourse which was prevalent during the late 1980s and early 1990s, positing a new ‘borderless’ world, in which the barrier impact of borders became insignificant. The article points to the common use of terminology which can create a shared border discourse among a diverse group of scholars, such as boundary demarcation, the nature of frontiers, borderlands and transition zones, and the ways in which borders are crossed. The article also discusses the reclosing of borders which is taking place as a result of 9/11 as part of the stated war against global terror."