Theatre
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles
Most of your assignments at the UW will require that you include at least some scholarly, peer reviewed articles. Peer review means the articles were read. commented on and corrected by experts before they were published.
In addition to searching for articles in databases specifically related to theatre, you may wish to try general-interest, interdisciplinary databases as well, like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR and the ProQuest Platform.
For more on understanding and using peer-reviewed articles, see the Library's YouTube Channel for a three-part series, Understanding the Scholarly Article:
- Part 1: What is a Scholarly Article?
- Part 2: How Are Scholarly Articles Structured?
- Part 3: Theory and the Scholarly Article.
If you need additional assistance, feel free to email the Librarian for XX, YY at XX@uiwnnipeg.ca.
Key Journals
- Theatre History StudiesSince 1981, Theatre History Studies has provided critical, analytical, and descriptive articles on all aspects of theatre history.
- Theatre SurveyTheatre Survey is chartered by the American Society for Theatre Research as a theatre history journal. Its theatrical and historical orientations are broadly conceived.
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography"... a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics."
- Theatre in Video [Alexander Street Press] This link opens in a new window
For improved accessibility, ProQuest has implemented audio-narrated descriptions to a select number of streaming videos in Academic Video Online (AVON). If you would like to request audio description for a streaming video in this collection, please email Michael Dudley. Please allow for a 2-3 week turn-around time.
Theatre in Video: Volume I provides access to online streaming videos of play performances, together with documentaries. The collection includes the works of a wide range of playwrights and actors, with performances from the 1930s to the present.
- Project MuseProject MUSE is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the social sciences and humanities.