Early Childhood Education and Development
Librarian
Overview
This research guide is for students, educators, and researchers in the field of early years learning and child development. It offers curated links to essential academic books, peer-reviewed journals, and specialized databases that cover a wide range of topics, from developmental milestones and educational theories to classroom strategies and policy studies. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me using the profile links on the left.
Quick Start
This guide is meant to provide you with some starting points for research in this subject area. If you are new to research and would like help with more general practices and techniques in library research, consider using one of our How-to guides, including the Beginner's Guide to Library Research.
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by ISBN: 9780387775791Publication Date: 2010This major reference work breaks new ground as an electronic resource for students, educators, researchers, and professionals.- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development byCall Number: HQ 767.9 C352 2005ISBN: 0521651174Publication Date: 2005"... a definitive, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of leading experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach covering topics that range from neonatal development to education, encompassing pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods, physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting.
- PsycInfo [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO contains abstracts of peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the disciplines of behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage spaning from the 1800s to the present in dozens of languages.
- ERIC [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides access to education-related literature including coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
