It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Updates: Visit our Service Status Page to find out what services and resources are available.
Emphasis on the historical, institutional, and theoretical background of modern economics from a Canadian perspective
The reference collection is a great place to begin your research. These short relevant articles will give the basic understanding you need to formulate a good research question.
The Economist Desk Companion by Economist Publications StaffThe Economist Desk Companion How to Measure, Convert, Calculate and Define Practically Anything Featuring 75 pages of quick-access charts and tables, The Economist Desk Companion provides every international measurement and definition anyone could possibly need for: Accounting • Agriculture • Chemistry • Computers • Economics • Electronics • Energy • Engineering • Finance • Fishing • Food and Drink • Forestry • Health • Light, Optics, and Photography • Mathematics • Minerals and Alloys • South and Music • Paper, Packaging, and Printing • Statistics • Space and Time • Textiles • Transport • Weapons It also features timesaving conversions and calculations of complicated sums such as: Annual percentage rates • Net present values • Percentage reversals • Conversions of square inches into square centimeters • Barrels of oil into tons • Pounds force per square inch into kilograms force per square centimeter With its wide-ranging subject matter and extraordinary detail, The Economist Desk Companion will be indispensable to anyone involved in international business, from students to personal investors to CEOs.
Call Number: Reference (UW) HF 5712 D47 1994
Publication Date: 1992-09-15
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: UW Reference H 41 I58 2001 v.1-v.26
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
This 9-volume study of social sciences is a successor to the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (ESS, 1930-1935) and the initial set of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (IESS, 1968) -- two groundbreaking MacMillan works that established standards for knowledge in social science research and practice (CHOICE, 2001). The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present.
Handbook of Environmental Economics by Jeffrey R. Vincent (Editor); Karl-Göran Mäler (Editor)
Call Number: Main Stacks (UW) HC 79 E5H32852 2003 v.1-v.3