Urban and Inner City Studies
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in Urban and Inner City Studies
Most of your assignments at the UW will require that you include at least some scholarly, peer reviewed articles. Peer review means the articles were read. commented on and corrected by experts before they were published.
As mentioned on the Home page of this Guide, the field of urban studies relates to many other areas of study, In addition to searching for articles in databases recommended here, you may wish to try general-interest, interdisciplinary databases as well, like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR and the ProQuest Platform.
For more on understanding and using peer-reviewed articles, see the the Library's YouTube Channel for a three-part series, Understanding the Scholarly Article:
- Part 1: What is a Scholarly Article?
- Part 2: How Are Scholarly Articles Structured?
- Part 3: Theory and the Scholarly Article.
If you need additional assistance, feel free to email the Librarian for Urban and Inner City Studies, Michael Dudley at m.dudley@uwinnipeg.ca.
Select Journals
Hover for details.
- Canadian Journal of Urban ResearchPublished by the Institute of Urban Studies here at UW, this is a "multi-disciplinary scholarly publication dedicated to providing a forum on urban issues, both national and international, from a Canadian perspective."
- Cities"... offers a comprehensive range of articles on all aspects of urban policy. It provides an international and interdisciplinary platform for the exchange of ideas and information between urban planners and policy makers from national and local government, non-government organizations, academia and consultancy."
- City"... a journal of provocative, cutting-edge and committed insights into, analysis of, and commentary on the contemporary urban world."
- CURB Magazine (University of Alberta)Curb Magazine is about policy practice and community experiences in cities, regions, and rural areas. Thoughtful, engaging articles examine and challenge ideas such as governance, urban design, sustainability, transportation and public spaces.
- Housing Policy Debate"Housing Policy Debate provides an outlet for cutting edge, original research that informs U.S. housing and community development policy. Subjects include affordable housing, neighborhood revitalization, housing related poverty alleviation and integration strategies, and metropolitan development trends. The journal also aims to explore linkages between housing policy and finance, energy, environmental, and transportation policies."
- International Journal of Urban and Regional Research"... encompasses key material from an unparalleled range of critical, comparative and geographic perspectives."
- Journal of the American Planning Association"For more than 70 years, [the journal] has published research, commentaries, and book reviews useful to practicing planners, policymakers, scholars, students, and citizens of urban, suburban, and rural areas."
- Review of Urban and Regional Development Studies"... contains rigorous empirical analysis, with many articles emphasizing theoretical and methodological issues, while others focus on policy relevance and the operational aspects of the academic disciplines."
- Shelterforce Online"Shelterforce is an independent, nonprofit publication that supports (and sometimes challenges) the community development field."
- Urban Affairs Review"... peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is a leading scholarly journal on urban issues and themes."
- Urban Studies"... provides an international forum of social and economic contributions to the fields of urban and regional planning."
Databases
-
Alternative Press Index
EBSCO database specializingin social justice issues. -
JSTOR
A multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of full-text journals, usually with full runs of each title except for the five most recent years. - Proquest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals, which covers about 4,000 publications, and fifteen subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules provide coverage of the following areas: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, womenÍs interests. - SAGE Knowledge
A collection of encyclopedias covering a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, criminal justice, leadership, governance, homelessness, human geography, politics, psychology, statistics, terrorism, and many more.
- Wiley Online
Wiley Online Library offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. This database contains more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals. The Library has access to most Wiley journal articles published after 1996.
Popular and Alternative Press Magazines
- Atlantic Magazine -- Cities"Place Matters"
- CURB Magazine (University of Alberta)CURB magazine is a forum for dialogue on how we can make our communities better places to live and work. Our vision is to spark meaningful conversations that promote more resilient and sustainable municipalities.
- Good Magazine - Rethinking Cities"Inside all cities are problem areas that can be optimized and made smarter-improving the function of the metropolis and the lives of its citizens."
- PlanetizenOnline portal to planning information, news and opinion.
- Spacing Magazine"Understanding Canada's Urban Landscape"
- Last Updated: Jul 4, 2023 2:14 PM
- URL: https://libguides.uwinnipeg.ca/urbanstudies
- Print Page