Kinesiology and Applied Health
Information to help get students researching topics in Kinesiology and Applied Health.
Open Databases
These open access databases allow users to search freely. The articles found in these databases may be a mix of open access and paywalled content.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's free, web searchable database which includes the online version of Index Medicus. It is an international index to biomedical research covering medicine, bio-medical sciences, and psychiatry and contains indexing and citation from 1946 to present, and provides access to open access articles.
- Dimensions This link opens in a new window Dimensions is an open source linked research system that brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents, and policy documents.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is an online health information resource. It is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It also provides evaluations on health treatments, and contains high quality health care information, including systematic reviews from The Cochrane Collaboration.
- Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) This link opens in a new window The Physiotherapy Evidence Database (or ‘PEDro’ for short) provides physiotherapists around the world with easy access to high-quality clinical research so they can practise and teach effectively. PEDro is a well-established, robust and trusted site that provides access to over 49,000 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides access to education-related literature including coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Open Journals & Articles
Some journals are fully open access, meaning anyone can read the articles in them for free. A few good quality open access journals in the field of Kinesiology & Applied Health are:
- International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity IJBNPA is devoted to furthering the understanding of the behavioral aspects of diet and physical activity and is unique in its inclusion of multiple levels of analysis, including populations, groups and individuals and its inclusion of epidemiology, and behavioral, theoretical and measurement research areas.
- Journal of Physiotherapy Journal of Physiotherapy is the official journal of the Australian Physiotherapy Association. The journal's mission is to publish significant research which has important implications for physiotherapy (also known as physical therapy).
- Journal of Sport and Health Science The Journal of Sport and Health Science (JSHS) is a peer-reviewed, international, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to the advancement of sport, exercise, physical activity, and health sciences.
- Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition (JISSN) focuses on the acute and chronic effects of sports nutrition and supplementation strategies on body composition, physical performance and metabolism.
- The Lancet Public Health The Lancet Public Health is an online-only, open access title in The Lancet's growing family of specialty journals. Building on the foundation of The Lancet as a champion of public health research, this monthly journal is committed to publishing high-quality original research Articles, review, editorials, comments, and correspondence that contribute to advancing health equity, public health practice and policy making worldwide.
Some journals are partially open access. Some of the articles in them are free for anyone to access, while other articles are not. In this case, free articles are identified by an open lock symbol near their title or description. Finding articles like this via databases can be challenging, however. One thing that can help is a web-browser extension that locates open access copies of materials. Here are a few that the library recommends:
- Unpaywall Browser Extension
This browser extension allows users to click a button to check if a free and legal copy of article is available. - Open Access Button (OAB)
This browser extension allows users to click a button to check for free, legal copies of research articles. If it doesn't find access, it will initiate a request to make the article open access, which is sent directly to the author.
Open Textbooks
Sport policy in Canada by
“The first and most comprehensive analysis of the new Canadian Sport Policy adopted in 2012.”
ISBN: 9780776620954Publication Date: 2014
Anatomy and Physiology by
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
ISBN: 9781947172043Publication Date: 2013
Manipulating practices : a critical physiotherapy reader by
Manipulating practices is the first ever collection of critical physiotherapy studies and comes at a time of unprecedented change in the profession. Written as a collaboration between 20 authors, many members of the Critical Physiotherapy Network (CPN), the book uncovers the growing body of critical thinking now emerging in physiotherapy. From topics as diverse as 21st century education, ethics, evidence-based practice, touch, and equine therapy; and approaches as varied as disability and performance studies, feminism, logic, narrative theory, new materialism, and phenomenology, the book explores ways of thinking ‘otherwise’ about physiotherapy. Over 16 chapters written by authors from six different countries, Manipulating practices offers insights from some of physiotherapy’s most radical thinkers. The book is also an innovative venture into open source publishing, making it entirely free to download and read. In keeping with the objectives of the CPN, the chapters expose a range of concepts, ideas and practices to critical scrutiny, and reflect the profession’s growing interest in critiquing taken-for-granted ways of practicing and thinking. Manipulating practices will be of interest to clinicians, lecturers, policy-makers, researchers and students, and will provide new impetus to help physiotherapists imagine how the profession might grow and develop into the future.
ISBN: 9788202550011Publication Date: 2018
International Handbook of Health Literacy by
Available Open Access under CC-BY-NC licence. Health literacy addresses a range of social dimensions of health, including knowledge, navigation and communication, as well as individual and organizational skills for accessing, understanding, evaluating and using information. Particularly over the past decade, health literacy has globally become a major public health concern as an asset for promoting health, wellbeing and sustainable development.This comprehensive handbook provides an invaluable overview of current international thinking about health literacy, highlighting cutting edge research, policy and practice in the field. With a diverse team of contributors, the book addresses health literacy across the life-span and offers insights from different populations and settings. Providing a wide range of major findings, the book outlines current discourse in the field and examines necessary future dialogues and new perspectives.
ISBN: 9781447344513Publication Date: 2019
Human Nutrition by
This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students and is the OER textbook for the FSHN 185 The Science of Human Nutrition course at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
ISBN: 9781948027083Publication Date: 2020
Open Educational Courses & More
- OCW: Public HealthOCW offers open materials and images from more than a hundred courses developed by the faculty of JHSPH, the world’s foremost institution of public health education and research. OCW is an expression of our mission to provide learning opportunities and teaching resources to all who pursue improvement of health and prevention of disease around the world.
- The Open University: Health, Sports & PsychologyHow best to maintain a healthy mind in a healthy body and the professions that help us.
- Future Learn: Health & Psychology CoursesWant to enhance patient care or improve your own wellbeing or mental health? Our online healthcare courses provide you with vital skills, knowledge and training. Learn about everything from Parkinson's disease to obesity or nutrition with top researchers.
- Khan Academy: Anatomy, Physiology, Health & MedicinePlease note: This course has been retired, but all the materials for it are still available and usable.
- YouTube: Jason CDetailed short anatomy videos.
Copyright