It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kinesiology and Applied Health
Information to help get students researching topics in Kinesiology and Applied Health.
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine describes all aspects of the field with perspectives, concepts, and methods from the medical, behavioral, and social sciences and physical education. Key Features: includes contributions from preeminent healthcare professionals who are renowned experts; presents a broad spectrum of entries covering a variety of key topics, a glossary, and two appendices; contains more than 550 tables and images, including anatomical drawings, X-rays, and MRI scans; illustrates selected diagnostic and treatment techniques step-by-step with more than 200 photographs; ands offers an in-depth examination of the various career opportunities in this area, including orthopedists, athletic trainers, sports psychologists, and nutritionists.
Covers terminology used in exercise psychology, sports nutrition, biomechanics, anatomy, sports sociology, training principles and techniques and sports injury and rehabilitation. This dictionary will be helpful for students, coaches, athletes and anyone wanting instant access to the scientific principles, anatomical structures, and physiological, sociological and psychological processes that affect sporting performance. It will also be of interest to the general reader interested in sports science and medicine terminology.
Covers topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010/2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.
Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings.
Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas is a 3D visualization and learning tool used to interact and explore the systems of the human body. It includes over 5,000 interactive, medically accurate male and female anatomical structures covering systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, senses, muscle action, and 25 cross-sections.
For information on system requirements click here.
For information on installing mobile apps click here.
The atlas contains a comprehensive outline of neuromuscular diseases, written by experienced American and European authors. It discusses all aspects of neuromuscular disorders including the cranial nerves, spinal nerves, motor neurone disease, the nerve plexus, and many others. Each chapter is uniformly structured into anatomy, symptoms, signs, pathogenetic possibilities, diagnosis and differential diagnosis, therapy and prognosis. Additionally, the diagnostic tools and investigations used in neuromuscular disease are explained and a practical guide is given on how to advance from symptoms to syndromes. For each disease the therapeutic options are described. It contains large number of clinical and histologic pictures and artists drawings.
Jeffrey J. Martin's Handbook of Disability Sport and Exercise Psychology is one of the first comprehensive textbooks devoted to describing and analyzing the knowledge base in exercise and sport psychology involving individuals with disabilities. This book examines topics ranging from mental skills, barriers to exercise, gender, self-esteem, anxiety, and athletic identity, to work with Paralympians and Wounded Warriors.
This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license. This handbook synthesizes and analyzes the growing knowledge base on life course health development (LCHD) from the prenatal period through emerging adulthood, with implications for clinical practice and public health. It presents LCHD as an innovative field with a sound theoretical framework for understanding wellness and disease from a lifespan perspective, replacing previous medical, biopsychosocial, and early genomic models of health. Interdisciplinary chapters discuss major health concerns (diabetes, obesity), important less-studied conditions (hearing, kidney health), and large-scale issues (nutrition, adversity) from a lifespan viewpoint. In addition, chapters address methodological approaches and challenges by analyzing existing measures, studies, and surveys. The book concludes with the editors' research agenda that proposes priorities for future LCHD research and its application to health care practice and health policy. Topics featured in the Handbook include: The prenatal period and its effect on child obesity and metabolic outcomes. Pregnancy complications and their effect on women's cardiovascular health. A multi-level approach for obesity prevention in children. Application of the LCHD framework to autism spectrum disorder. Socioeconomic disadvantage and its influence on health development across the lifespan. The importance of nutrition to optimal health development across the lifespan. The Handbook of Life Course Health Development is a must-have resource for researchers, clinicians/professionals, and graduate students in developmental psychology/science; maternal and child health; social work; health economics; educational policy and politics; and medical law as well as many interrelated subdisciplines in psychology, medicine, public health, mental health, education, social welfare, economics, sociology, and law.
The "Routledge Handbook of Motor Control and Motor Learning "is the first book to offer a comprehensive survey of neurophysiological, behavioural and biomechanical aspects of motor function. Adopting an integrative approach, it examines the full range of key topics in contemporary human movement studies, explaining motor behaviour in depth from the molecular level to behavioural consequences. The book contains contributions from many of the worlds leading experts in motor control and motor learning, and is composed of five thematic parts: Theories and models Basic aspects of motor control and learning Motor control and learning in locomotion and posture Motor control and learning in voluntary actions Challenges in motor control and learning Mastering and improving motor control may be important in sports, but it becomes even more relevant in rehabilitation and clinical settings, where the prime aim is to regain motor function. Therefore the book addresses not only basic and theoretical aspects of motor control and learning but also applied areas like robotics, modelling and complex human movements. This book is both a definitive subject guide and an important contribution to the contemporary research agenda. It is therefore important reading for students, scholars and researchers working in sports and exercise science, kinesiology, physical therapy, medicine and neuroscience."