Call Number: eBook; Print copy at REF JA 66 A21 2011 vol. 1-2
Publication Date: 2010-10-22
Via 99 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on political science highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. 21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook serves as an authoritative reference source that meets students' research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail, or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Call Number: ebook; print copy at REF JA 61 B57 1991
Publication Date: 1991-09-03
Encompassing the whole spectrum of the history and theory of politics from Socrates to Rawls, this is the most comprehensive and scholarly reference work available on its subject. The 350 entries, written by a team of 120 international specialists, are a balanced blend of full-length survey articles and shorter definitions. Key concepts in political thought are defined and analyzed, and ideologies are considered in relation both to historical context and to contemporary politics. All articles are cross-referenced and indexed.
Call Number: eBook; print copy at REF E 183.7 E52 2002 v. 1-3
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
The revised Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy reflects the challenge the nation has faced in several ways [since the first edition in 1978]. The most evident change is the updating of articles such as Balance of power (now briefly discussing George W. Bush's rapid shift in September 2001 from unilateralism to collaboration); Cold War evolution and interpretations (noting the continuity between interpretations of the forces that fueled it and interpretations of its end); and Dissent in wars (noting the ambivalence of the U.S and its political leaders toward the 1990s conflicts in the Balkans).
Community itself is a concept, an experience, and a central part of being human. The encyclopedia covers communities of the past and present, from 19th century utopians, to the communes of the 1960's, to today's Rotary Club, Amish, and cyber communities.
The Encyclopedia of Governance provides a one-stop point of reference for the diverse and complex topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes in the 1970s. This comprehensive resource concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of Political Science, Public Administration, Political Economy, and Sociology.
The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism by Ronald Hamowy (Editor); Cato Institute Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF JC 585 E53 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-15
With more than 300 A-to-Z signed entries written by top scholars, The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism is purposed to be a useful compilation of and introduction to libertarian scholarship. The Encyclopedia starts with an introductory essay offering an extensive historical and thematic overview of key thinkers, events, and publications in the development of libertarian thought. The Reader’s Guide groups content for researchers and students alike, allowing them to study libertarianism topically, biographically, and by public policy issues.
The Encyclopedia of Political Science by George Thomas Kurian (Editor); James E. Alt (Editor); Simone Chambers (Editor); Paula D. McClain (Editor); Geoffrey Garrett (Editor); Margaret Levi (Editor)
Call Number: REF JA 61 E513 2011 vols. 1-5
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
[The Encyclopedia of Political Science] brings together a distinguished editorial board and over 600 distinguished and rising scholars to chronicle and assess the core issues that have long concerned students of politics. This comprehensive, multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. Cognizant of the global nature of political ideas and movements, TEPS reflects a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international.
"All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research."
World Fascism by Cyprian P. Blamires (Editor); Paul Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: REF JC 481 W67 2006 vol. 1-2
Publication Date: 2006-09-18
Here is a major contribution to the scholarship of Fascism. The more than 500 separately authored entries are written by 125 experts in Fascism studies. Like the authors, the entries represent the multidisciplinary nature of Fascism studies, covering history, political science, philosophy, and religion in entries on people, political parties and movements, and key geographical areas. Entries average 1 to 2 pages, but there are some longer articles, such as the 6-page article on France. Although the majority of entries deal with the twentieth century, meaning there should be no shortage of available images, there are only a few black-and-white illustrations, mostly attached to biographical entries.