Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Atlases - General
A Dictionary of First Names by
Call Number: REF CS 2367 H32 1990
Publication Date: 1990-11-29
A genealogical and heraldic history of the extinct and dormant baronetcies of England, Ireland and Scotland. by
Call Number: REF CS 422 B84 1964
Publication Date: 1964
More commonly known as "Burke's Extinct and Dormant Baronetcies."
Brief narratives of families whose titles died with them. Includes illustrations of crests
Burke's Peerage and Baronetage by
Call Number: REF CS 420 B85 1999
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Debrett's Peerage and Baronetage, 1995 by
Call Number: REF CS 420 D32 1995
Publication Date: 1995-08-01
Fairbairn's Book of crests of the families of Great Britain and Ireland. by
Call Number: REF CR 57 G7F2 1968
Publication Date: 1968
Alphabetical list of family names with descriptions of crests; family mottoes; plates of crest designs.
Foreign versions, variations, and diminutives of English names
Call Number: REF CS 2309 U55 1970
Publication Date: 1970
Offers 17 European variations of common English names.
Also includes foreign equivalents of United States military and civilian titles.
German-American Names by
Call Number: REF CS 2487 J66
Publication Date: 1990-03-01
Surname meanings with see references for variations.
German-English Genealogical Dictionary by
Call Number: REF CS 6 T48 1993
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
For use by researchers with little or no knowledge of the German language, the dictionary covers basic terms generally found in public documents.
Lexikon der Heraldik by
Call Number: REF CR 13 o89
Publication Date: 1985
German dictionary of Heraldry. Includes black and white and colour illustrations and photographs of crests.
Niederdeutsches Namenbuch by
Call Number: REF CS 2545 B3
Publication Date: 1972
Dictionary of German names.
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World by
Call Number: REF G 103.5 C65 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-23
Highlights former place names.
The Genealogist's Guide by
Call Number: REF CS 410.7 M42 1973
Publication Date: 1973
Sources of information listed according to family surname. Reprint of 1903 edition.
The Oxford Dictionary of English Christian Names by
Call Number: REF CS 2375 G7W5 1977
Publication Date: 1977-09-15
Historical and geographic explanations of common first names, with variations.
The Penguin dictionary of surnames. by
Call Number: REF CS 2505 C67
Publication Date: 1967
The royal heraldry of England by
Call Number: REF CS 418 P56
Publication Date: 1974
Heraldry of England's royal families from the 11th Century.
The surnames of Ireland. by
Call Number: CS 2411 M25 1969
Publication Date: 1969
Definitions, variations and historical/geographic explanations.
Tracing Your Ancestors in the Public Record Office by
Call Number: REF CS 410.7 C68 2002
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Guide to sources of public information in genealogical research in the UK.
Webster's Dictionary of First Names
Call Number: REF CS 2367 W37 1981
Publication Date: 1981-01-01
Simple definitions with variants.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Atlases -- Metis/Manitoba Heritage
North-West Half-Breed Scrip
Call Number: REF CS 89 M672 1997
Publication Date: 1997-04-01
Responses submitted to an 1885 Commission into "Half-Breed" families.
Call Number: REF CS 89 M67 1996
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Detailed accounts of Metis families from 18th to 20th centuries.
Call Number: REF CS 89 M665 1996
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Information from Manitoba land scrip registry from 1875.
Le Troisième registre de Tadoussac
Call Number: REF CS 88 T33T76
Publication Date: 1976
Birth, marriage and death records of Aboriginal families from Tadoussac Quebec.
Back to the Land: A Genealogical Guide to Finding Farms on the Canadian Prairies
Call Number: REF CS 88 P693034 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Including an index to townships in the 1901 census.
An Index of marriage and death notices from Manitoba newspapers
Call Number: REF CS 88 M35138 1986
Publication Date: 1986
Alphabetical by family name. Produced by the Manitoba Genealogical Society.