Genealogy: Genealogy on the Web
Introduction
- History at Home - a Guide to GeneaologyGood general introduction to conducting genealogical research.
"Through genealogy, researchers find out more about themselves and their families. The search may seem endless, as one piece of information leads to new stories, places, and people. Genealogy can improve lives by helping people identify and treat health risks. And genealogists hold a special spot in the hearts of their families. After all, genealogists know who to invite to the next family reunion."
Canadian Resources
- Cyndi's List - Canada"A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online."
- Internet Encyclopedia of UkraineFrom the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies.
- Library and Archives CanadaSearch
Births, Marriages, Deaths
Census and Enumerations
Immigration and Citizenship
Military
Land
Employment - University of Toronto Libraries guide to Slavic and East European Resources"This guide includes annotated links to selected electronic resources, such as online library catalogues, archival guides, digital collections, dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, e-journals, and search engines. The sources cover a wide range of disciplines in the areas of humanities and social sciences, and offer content in many Slavic, Baltic, Finno-Ugric, and Western European languages."
Europe
Note: Some of these collections do not have significant genealogical content, but may be useful for general historical and geographical information.
"ALO is a digital library with more than 15.000 documents from the 11. Century up to the present. Books, journals, newspapers, manuscripts, theses and scientific essays are available in digitized form or as PDF."
Czech and Moravia Heraldic Library / Böhmische und Mährische Heraldische Bibliothek
"Only a fraction of the general production of the Czech heraldic literature can be found on the internet; [we] believe that the wider availability of professionally-styled texts will be of benefit to those who wrote and those who seek information. Texts are scanned and saved in PDF format. We welcome assistance and cooperation on the part of publishers, authors and owners of prints."
Digital Library of Poland / Cyfrowa Biblioteka Narodowa
Hungarian Electronic Library / Magyar Elektronikus Könyvtár
"the Hungarian Electronic Library became one of the most popular and most significant text-archives of the Hungarian webspace. Technically a civil movement has formed around it, due to the fact that anyone, even with the simplest of methods and means can contribute to the development of the collections."
National Library of Latvia — Digital Collections
"The aim of the Latvian National Digital Library is to ensure digitizing collections of the NLL and partner organizations, by making them accessible on the Internet. At present the Digital Library holds digitised collections of newspapers, pictures, maps, books, sheet-music and audio recordings. Coming soon - Audio & Video."
Russian State Library / Российская государственная библиотек
Digital National library of Serbia
Digital Library of Slovenia / Digitalna knjižnica Slovenije
Exlibris: уkраїнсьkа елеkтронна бібліотеkа історія, публіцистика, художня література
[Ukrainian electronic library of history, journalism, and literature]
Federation of East European Family History Societies
"Do your ancestors come from Eastern Europe? Do you have records that you cannot read? Are you aware of the vast collection of genealogical records from Eastern Europe on microfilm in the Family History Library, located in Salt Lake City, Utah? Do you know about the images of original church, census, and tax records found on the Internet for countries like the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Estonia, and Latvia?"
- Office of the Chief Archivist of LithuaniaSite in English with sections on genealogy and Electronic Depositories, as well as information on the archives.
American and International Resources
African Ancestry: Find the African in Your American.
African American Genealogy Records - from FamilySearch.org
Ancestor Hunt
"The Mormon Church (LDS or The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints) is well known for their collection of genealogy records. Search the Mormon Church's huge genealogy record collection in the free genealogy search engine."
Cyndi's List - Main
"A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online."
GenealogyBank
"GenealogyBank's 6,100+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. These unique primary documents go beyond names and dates, providing first-hand accounts that simply aren't available from census or vital records alone." Requires membership.
Genealogy Guide, The
@ The Hub Post
Geneaology Research Strategies
From Public Records Reviews
FamilySearch
"Our records span billions of names across hundreds of collections—including birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military, IGI extracted, and more. Resource of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
JewishGen
"JewishGen, a non-profit organization affiliated with the Museum of Jewish Heritage – A Living Memorial to the Holocaust, was founded in 1987 as a bulletin board with only 150 users who were interested in Jewish genealogy.
Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online
"GAMEO provides reliable information on Anabaptist-related (Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, Brethren in Christ) topics, including history, theology, biography, institutions and local congregations. Secular topics from an Anabaptist perspective and full-text source documents are also included."
"Census records can provide the building blocks of your research. The first Federal Population Census was taken in 1790, and has been taken every ten years since. Because of a 72-year restriction on access to the Census, the most recent year available is 1940. The 1950 Census will be released in 2022. "
Genealogy for Kids: Building a Family Tree | AAA State of Play Over thirty genealogical resources for researchers of all ages.
Blogs, Wikis and Social Media
- Geneaology Canada (Blog)Blog of Genealogycanada.com
- WikiTree"This free, collaborative project has been growing since 2008. As a community we are creating a single worldwide family tree. As individuals and family members we are connecting the tree with our private family histories."