Women's and Gender Studies
Select databases
Below is a selection of subject specific databases as well as some interdisciplinary sources that have lots of material relevant to WGS.
- Contemporary Women's Issues [Gale] This link opens in a new windowContemporary Women's Issues provides access to information on women in over 150 countries. Subjects covered include education, family, gender equity, health, human rights, gays/lesbians, politics, and sociology.
- Defining Gender [AM] This link opens in a new windowDefining Gender incorporates primary source material from collections of ephemera, diaries, periodicals, letters, poetry, books and pamphlets of doubtless interest to those researching history, literature, sociology or education from a gendered perspective. Content in this collection is arranged into five sections: I Conduct and Politeness, II Domesticity and the Family, III Consumption and Leisure, IV Education and Sensibility, V The Body.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new windowFeminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- ViVa Women's History This link opens in a new windowViva is a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. It contains articles in English, French, German, Dutch, Scandinavian languages, and, occasionally Spanish which are selected from European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals.
- Alternative Press Index (API) [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. It focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Born of the New Left, it is both international and interdisciplinary, and provides access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
- JSTOR [JSTOR] This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, as well as books and primary sources published by various publishers and presses. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- Project MUSE Premium This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the social sciences and humanities.
- ProQuest Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary journal and news resource that brings together databases across many major subject areas; including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology. It also contains core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and as well as thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Scholarly Journals
Below is a selection of a few scholarly journals relevant to women's and gender studies.
- differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural StudiesSince first appearing in 1989, "the journal has established a critical forum where the problematic of differences is explored in texts ranging from the literary and the visual to the political and social. differences highlights theoretical debates across the disciplines that address the ways concepts and categories of difference—notably but not exclusively gender—operate within culture."
- Feminist Media StudiesFeminist Media Studies provides a transdisciplinary, transnational forum for researchers pursuing feminist approaches to the field of media and communication studies, with attention to the historical, philosophical, cultural, social, political, and economic dimensions and analysis of sites including print and electronic media, film and the arts, and new media technologies.
- Journal of GLBT Family StudiesThe Journal of GLBT Family Studies is the first journal to address the unique experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals in the context of the family. The journal publishes original research, as well as theoretical and review papers on topics exploring the impact of sexual orientation and gender identity on all aspects of family experience – including family structure, relationships, communication, therapy, and functioning.
- Journal of Men's StudiesThe Journal of Men’s Studies (MEN) publishes the best research—both theoretical and empirical—in the emergent men’s studies field, recognizing the varied influences of class, culture, race, and sexual orientation on defining men’s experiences. The journal’s cross-disciplinary and cross-cultural character disseminates material by men’s studies scholars from various perspectives (political, social, cultural, and historical) as well as various disciplines (anthropology, sociology, history, psychology, literature, theology).
- Resources for Feminist ResearchPublishes critical work addressing a broad range of issues relevant to feminist theory and activism, provides an educational resource and a forum for the communication of ideas, news, and other information of interest to the community of feminist scholars, and encourages research on gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, nationality and class, and how they inform and affect the conditions of women's lives.
- Signs"The journal publishes pathbreaking articles, review essays, comparative perspectives, and retrospectives of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and sexuality." (journal home page)
- Women's Studies in CommunicationWomen's Studies in Communication provides a feminist forum for research, reviews, and commentary that advance our understanding of the relationships between communication and women, gender, sexuality, and feminism. WSIC is committed to publishing essays that address the intersection of gender, power, class, race, ethnicity, nationality and transnationalism.