Women's and Gender Studies

The Canadian Women's Movements Portal, hosted by the University of Ottawa Library and supported by the generosity of distinguished alumni and friends, is a pan-Canadian inventory of archival materials available in heritage organizations across the country

The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities. This ensures future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives. The Archives’ principles are a radical departure from conventional archival practices, are inclusive, are non-institutional and reveal our commitment to housing the past along with the present.

The Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content on topics of importance to the interdisciplinary field of Women's and Gender Studies. Collection priorities include primary sources, first hand accounts, and records of social, cultural, and political movements for gender equality.

Honor R. Sachs has noted that the writing of women’s history often relies on “unearthing otherwise obscure archival evidence.” While material related to women and their history is frequently hidden in any number or variety of collections, the University Archives holds a range of records that specifically and discernably document the lives of women in Nova Scotia.

Women of Impact in Canada is an online gallery dedicated to women's achievements, featuring profiles of courageous women who have made an impact in politics, the arts and sciences, and countless other fields. By sharing their stories, we can cement their place in history and inspire others to follow in their footsteps.

An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.

Learn about the history of women in the United States by exploring their stories through letters, photographs, film, and other primary sources. Explore the records featured here, and view selected images from the National Archives Catalog.

The Global Feminisms Project archives oral history interviews with individuals who identify themselves as working on behalf of issues related to women and gender in different national contexts. While the selection of interviewees is made by local organizers at each global site, the project as a whole emphasizes the multiple forms of feminism present within and across these sites. The interviews are conducted by different individuals using a common base protocol developed by the collaborators from the first four country sites (China, India, Poland and the U.S.A.).

We have interviewed over 125 feminist psychologists about the relationship between their feminist and womanist values and their careers in psychology. These first-hand narratives are a valuable resource for today's researchers and for future historians. They help us document, preserve, and analyze this relationship in all of its complexity.