It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Colonization, Decolonization and Postcolonialism: An Interdisciplinary Guide
Supports research in Indigenous Studies, History, Political Science, Women's and Gender Studies and Literary Studies.
Print or electronic reference sources can include encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes and atlases. They can be an excellent source for locating specific information and facts, or summary essays on your topic.
Colonialism by East River Books Staff (Editor); Melvin E. Page (Editor); James D. Ciment (Editor); Penny Sonnenberg
Call Number: REF JV 22 C65 2003 v.1 -3
Publication Date: 2003-09-16
"The history of the last 500 years is the history of imperialism," writes editor Melvin Page. In the Americas, as a result of imperialist conquest, disease, famine, and war nearly wiped out a population estimated in the tens of millions. Africa was devastated by the slave trade, an integral part of imperialism from the 1400s to the 1800s. In Asia, even though native populations survived, native political institutions were destroyed. Imperialism also forged the two most important ideologies of the last five centuries--racialism and modern nationalism. In more than 600 essays presented in this three-volume encyclopedia, Page and other leading scholars--historians, political scientists, economists, and sociologists--analyze the origins of imperialism, the many forms it took, and its impact worldwide. They also explore imperialism's bitter legacy: the gross inequities of global wealth and power that divide the former conquerors--primarily Europe, the United States, and Japan--from the people they conquered.
Encyclopedia of African Colonial Conflicts by Timothy J. Stapleton (Editor)
Call Number: REF DT 31 E53 2017 vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Two volumes introduce the history of colonial wars in Africa and illustrate why African countries like the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Somalia, and Sudan continue to experience ethnic, political, and religious violence in the early 21st century. This sweeping study examines the wars of colonial conquest fought in Africa during the 19th and early 20th centuries. From Britain's efforts to wrest control of the Sudan from military leader Muhammad Ahmad al-Mahdi, to Italy's decisive defeat at the Battle of Adowa in Ethiopia, to Leopold II's brutal reign over the Belgian Congo, the work surveys the devastation reaped upon the continent by colonization and illustrates how its combative influence continues to resonate in Africa today. Written by scholars in the fields of history and politics, this complete reference includes entries on wars, campaigns, rebellions, battles, leaders, and organizations. The work delves into key historical periods including the "Scramble for Africa" (ca.1880 to 1910); early European colonial wars in Africa, such as the Dutch in the Cape and the Portuguese in Angola and Mozambique; and African rebellions against the early colonial state in the 1890s and early 1900s. Entries feature prominent events and personalities as well as lesser-known occurrences and players. * Begins with a helpful introduction and overview of the topic * Contains alphabetical entries on wars, campaigns, battles, leaders, and other topics related to European colonial conquest in Africa * Includes African rebellions against the early colonial states in the 1890s and early 1900s * Features entries written by scholars in the fields of history and politics * Covers all major regions of Africa as well as relevant European powers * Provides a list of additional sources for further reading
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Thought in English by Prem Poddar (Editor); David Johnson (Editor); Edinburgh University Press Staff
Call Number: REF PR 9080 A52H57 2005
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
From the triumphs of nationalism and political and cultural independence to the continuing problems of internal strife and poverty, postcolonial nations have grappled with a range of political, intellectual, and economic issues. This comprehensive volume introduces the major events, figures, and movements that have shaped the postcolonial history of the Anglophone world. With entries from more than fifty leading scholars arranged alphabetically by topic, the Companion brings together the postcolonial histories of Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific, the Caribbean, and Canada. Each entry provides a summary of a historical event or topic and suggestions for further readings. The volume also includes substantive essays on historiography and women's histories. By outlining the cultural, social, and political contexts of postcolonialism as well as examining elements of colonial history, the Companion illuminates complex contemporary debates about globalization, AIDS prevention, immigration, race, politics, economics, culture, and language.
Ngugi Wa Thiong'o by Carol Sicherman
Call Number: REF PR 9381.9 N45Z865 1990
Publication Date: 1990-09-01
"This significant work draws on a wide array of sources to trace Ngugi's efforts to contribute to a truly decolonized Africa. Of interest to African literature scholars, historians, & political scientists, this collection includes interviews, personal letters, memoirs, government records, newspaper reports, pamphlets, official inquires--many unpublished. "