Queer Studies
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The University of Winnipeg Library has many dictionaries and encyclopedias that can help you find background information on a research topic. A selection of reference materials available online or in print in the Reference Department is listed below:
Print and Electronic Resources
- Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality (Print)(Reference HQ 21 C657 2004)
Provides an extensive source of information on comparative issues in sexuality. The country-by-country entries cover standard topics including "Homoerotic, Homosexual, and Ambisexual Behaviors" and "Cross-Gendered Persons." - Encyclopedia of Gender and Society (online)Aims to provide a 'gender lens' on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
- Encyclopedia of Homosexuality (Print)(Reference HQ 76.25 E53 1990)
Information about all aspects of male and female homosexuality, both current and historic. - Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia (Print)(Reference HQ 75.13 G37 2000)
Volume 2 of The Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures. Provides useful and thorough overviews of the topic. - glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture (Online)This is a free resource that provides signed articles on the arts, social sciences and literature. Articles include bibliographies. This site contains extensive advertising.
**The website closed on August 1, 2015 because of the collapse of the online advertising business model that had supported it. The current link now directs users to an online archive of entries from the encyclopedia. - Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia (Online)Volume 1 of The Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures. Provides useful and thorough overviews of the topic.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by ISBN: 9781483371283Publication Date: 2016"This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives."
- Same-Sex Domestic Violence: Strategies for Change"This comprehensive resource book examines a broad range of issues that confront the victims of same-sex domestic violence and those who offer them services. Chapters include topics of practical concern, HIV, same-sex domestic violence, establishing safe-home networks for battered gay men, courtroom advocacy, coalition building and dating violence prevention."
- Heterosexuality in Question"With heterosexuality currently being examined more rigorously than ever before, this accessible and engaging book charts the development of feminist and sociological theorizing on sexuality and the emergence of a radical critique of heterosexuality. Stevi Jackson reviews a range of important theoretical and substantive issues, and she demonstrates an important shift in feminist thinking from an emphasis on male dominance within heterosexual relations to a critical perspective on heterosexuality itself."