Queer Studies

Scholarly Journals

Below is a selection of a few scholarly journals relevant to women's and gender studies.

Atlantis: Critical Studies in Gender, Culture & Social Justice
"...a scholarly research journal devoted to critical work in a variety of formats that reflects current scholarship and approaches to the discipline of Women's and Gender Studies. It incorporates a diversity of feminist, anti-racist and critical identity, intersectional, transnational, and cultural studies approaches to a wide range of contemporary issues, topics, and knowledges." (from home page)
GLQ: A Journal of Gay and Lesbian Studies
"GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies, [offering] queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality."
Journal of GLBT Family Studies
The Journal of GLBT Family Studies is the first journal to address the unique experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals in the context of the family. The journal publishes original research, as well as theoretical and review papers on topics exploring the impact of sexual orientation and gender identity on all aspects of family experience – including family structure, relationships, communication, therapy, and functioning.
Queer Studies in Media and Popular Culture
"devoted to the study of representations and expressions of queerness in its various forms. It aims to publish cutting-edge scholarship on noteworthy topics at the intersection of media/popular culture and queerness in gender/sexuality. Its contents are international in scope and represent a wide variety of disciplines, with a particular emphasis on perspectives and approaches from the humanities, social sciences, and the arts."

Searching the Databases

If you are looking for articles about a certain topic, you will want to search for the topic in one of our subscription Databases. You can select a broad, multi-disciplinary database (like the Popular Databases) or a narrow, subject-specific database (for example Women's and Gender Studies). Below is a sample list of databases useful for researching topics in women's and gender issues.

Try searching for your topic keywords. Explore the features that allow you to limit your results by Publication Date, Language, etc.

When you find an article you're interested in, look for a Full-text link (PDF or HTML). If there is no link to the full-text, use the Find Text button. This link searches through our other databases to see if the full-text is available elsewhere. If none of our databases have the full-text, you may want to request the article through our Interlibrary Loan service. See the information box on the right for more information on Interlibrary Loans.

Alternative Press Index (API)
Provides access to the practices and theories of radical social change, and focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
Defining Gender incorporates primary source material from the collections of more than fifteen libraries providing users with a robust collection of ephemera, diaries, periodicals, letters, poetry, books and pamphlets of doubtless interest to those researching history, literature, sociology or education from a gendered perspective. Content in this collection is arranged into five sections: I Conduct and Politeness, II Domesticity and the Family, III Consumption and Leisure, IV Education and Sensibility, V The Body.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
This index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, gender, and sexuality, (including masculinity and male homosexuality) during the Middle Ages in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.
Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.

News Magazines

The following are popular news sources. Although they are not scholarly, they may provide some inspiration for scholarly research topics.