Curriculum Studies
This guide is an essential resource for academic inquiry into curriculum and pedagogy, providing curated access to key books, journals, and databases in the field.
Librarian
Key Journals
- Journal of Curriculum Studies Journal of Curriculum Studies publishes conceptually rich contributions to all areas of curriculum studies, including those derived from empirical, philosophical, sociological, or policy-related investigations.
- The Curriculum Journal The Curriculum Journal is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes original contributions to the study of curriculum theory, as well as curriculum-making practices.
- Curriculum Inquiry Curriculum Inquiry (CI) is a leading international journal in the field of curriculum studies. It is dedicated to studies of educational experience in schools, communities, families, and other local or transnational settings, using a range of theoretical and disciplinary approaches.
- International Journal of Curriculum and Instruction International Journal of Curriculum and Instruction (IJCI) is a professional, double-blind peer-reviewed international journal devoted to fostering intercultural communication among educators and teachers worldwide, encouraging translational collaborative efforts in curriculum research and development, and promoting critical understanding of social problems in a global perspective.
- Curriculum Perspectives The mission of Curriculum Perspectives is to encourage diverse curriculum scholarship and the international exchange of ideas in the field of Curriculum Inquiry.
- Journal of Curriculum and Pedagogy The Journal of Curriculum and Pedagogy is dedicated to the study of curriculum theory, educational inquiry, and pedagogical praxis. This leading international journal brings together scholars from a variety of disciplines to explore and critically examine diverse perspective on educational phenomena, from schools and cultural institutions to sites and concerns beyond institutional boundaries.
- Canadian Journal of Education Provides a national forum for the discussion of the problems and issues confronting education in Canada. (ulrichsweb)
- Teaching and Teacher Education "... a multidisciplinary journal, committed to no single approach, discipline, methodology or paradigm. It is concerned with teaching and teacher education in general and devoted to all concerned with teaching." (publisher's description)
- Review of Educational Research Contains integrative reviews and interpretations of the research literature on substantive and methodological issues. (ulrichsweb)
- Educational Researcher "... a multidisciplinary journal, committed to no single approach, discipline, methodology or paradigm. It is concerned with teaching and teacher education in general and devoted to all concerned with teaching."
- Journal of Teacher Education "... leading teacher education through the 21st century with timely topics such as field experiences and teacher education; cognitive science and critical thinking; preparing teachers for urban schools; teachers' beliefs; accreditation and certification; selection, retention, and recruitment of minority teachers and teacher leadership; perspectives on leadership; professional ethics in teacher education; and restructuring teacher education." (publisher's description)
Key Databases
- ERIC [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides access to education-related literature including coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- Education Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowEducation Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education.
- Middle Search Plus [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowMiddle Search Plus provides full-text for popular, middle school magazines, all of which are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). It also contains biographies, historical essays, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Primary Search [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowPrimary Search provides full text for popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and go as far back as 1990.
