Neurodiversity - Resources for Studying and Teaching : Artificial Intelligence Tools for Study and Research
About
There are many new Artificial Intelligence tools that can help students search for, organize, summarize, and clarify their scholarly sources. Note that the products listed on this page were produced by various software developers and some are only at the "experimental" stage. As well, they are not among the databases purchased by the UW Library; they are linked here for convenience but the University of Winnipeg makes no claims as to their accuracy--use at your own discretion!
CAUTION: Several of the AI tools listed on this page are designed to enable users to upload PDFs of articles in order to describe or summarize them. Please note that this may only be done with user-created content or articles obtained through open access sources like the Directory of Open Access Journals; uploading PDFs from license databases (like EBSCO or ProQuest) into third-party AI tools would constitute a violation of UW's database licensing agreements.
AI Literacy
-
AI LiteracyOverview of the ethical concerns students should bear in mind while using AI, including concerns over potential plagiarism, inaccuracy, biases, and impacts on the environment. Includes guidance on citing AI tools.
AI Tools for Studying
- Explainpaper
Assists in explaining complex academic papers. Upload a PDF obtained through an OPEN ACCESS database, highlight passages that you find difficult or confusing, and the AI will rephrase these for you.
- Goblintools
"A collection of small, simple, single-task tools, mostly designed to help neurodivergent people with tasks they find overwhelming or difficult." Tools include "The Judge" (helps assess the tone of writing); "The Estimator" estimates how long tasks will take; "The Formalizer" converts the tone into nearly 20 different options, including "easier to read" and "snarkier"; and "Magic ToDo" generates task lists.
- Notebook LM
Experimental AI tool launched in July 2023 allows users to upload one or many PDFs of scholarly articles obtained through an OPEN ACCESS database, and generate summaries, ask questions about the content, or generate ideas about taking the information further. Of particular value for accessibility purposes is the ability to generate a "podcast" discussion about the articles between two "speakers" who engage in a realistic, lifelike dialogue about the contents.
- Scholarcy
Generates thorough point-by-point summaries (including research methods and key concepts) from uploaded PDFs obtained through an OPEN ACCESS database, which can then be output to Word, PowerPoint, Excel, and other formats.
AI Tools for Research
-
ElicitConducts search for inquiry (similar to a search engine), but also gathers, screens and assesses articles, then generates a report about the articles' findings.
-
PerplexityIn response to queries, Perplexity generates responses and summaries, but also provides links to the scholarly and popular sources the answers came from.
-
UndermindSummarizing findings of scholarly articles in response to queries.
Fee-based plans available, but free version allows 5 searches per month.