US Data Rescue 2025
General Government Data Backups and Archives
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Through DataLumos, an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources, ICPSR is helping the data community to preserve, document, and disseminate thousands of files from agencies. Includes but is not limited to:
- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) datasets, including but not limited to: National Household Survey, Disaster Information, National Risk Index, Disaster Individual Assistance, FEMA Public Assistance Dataset, USA Structures State GDB, Hazard Mitigation Assistance Data
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSHA) datasets, including but not limited to: Mental Health Client Level Data, National Mental Health Services Survey, National Survey of Drug Use and Health, National Survey of Substance Abuse and Treatment Services, Treatment Episode Dataset
- Institute of Library and Museum Services (IMLS) datasets including: Museum Data Files, PLS Benchmarking Tables, Library Search & Compare, Public Library Survey, Library Administrative Agency Survey
- United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) datasets including but not limited to: Homeownership Value Limits, Income Limits, Home Rent Limits, Utility Schedule Model, Homelessness Prediction Model, Family Options Study, USPS Census Tract Crosswalk
- American Housing Survey (AHS)
- United States Agency for International Development (USAID) Demographics and Heath Survey (DHS)
- United States Department of Education datasets including but not limited to: College Scorecard data, Title II Reports, ED Data Express, Civil Rights Collection, National Reporting System for Adult Education, Equity in Athletics
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) datasets including but not limited to: Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System, Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, Youth Risk Behavior Survey
- DataLumosDataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
- End of Term Web ArchiveThe End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020. The main coordinated effort to archive websites; datasets may or may not be accessible.
Note: Incudes web Archive of the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children (NCMEC) website before references to LGBTQ+ children were removed. - Harvard's Library Innovation Lab: Data.gov ArchiveA 16TB collection includes over 311,000 datasets harvested during 2024 and 2025, a complete archive of federal public datasets linked by data.gov. It will be updated daily as new datasets are added to data.gov.
- Public Data: UCSB LSIT Data MirroringMirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server. Includes retrieved data sets from Centers for Disease Control (CDC), National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
- DryadGeneralist repository available to help with data publication, storage, and preservation.
- PubMed PreprintsPubMed Preprints, speculative: depending on how harvesting works, there is the possibility that preprints from US PubMed Central that have been pulled may still be available on Europe PMC.
- Webrecorder US Government Web ArchiveWebrecorder's efforts to archive US federal government at the end of the Biden administration. Working in collaboration with https://eotarchive.org/
This public collections gallery includes archives webpages from USAID, IHS, CDC, Climate.gov, EPA, and more.
- Last Updated: May 7, 2025 2:47 PM
- URL: https://libguides.uwinnipeg.ca/usdatarescueresources
- Print Page