Psychology

Now in a revised and expanded fourth edition, this definitive reference and text has more than 50% new material, reflecting a decade of theoretical and empirical advances. Prominent researchers describe major theories and review cutting-edge findings. The volume explores how personality emerges from and interacts with biological, developmental, cognitive, affective, and social processes, and the implications for well-being and health. Innovative research programs and methods are presented throughout. The concluding section showcases emerging issues and new directions in the field.

The SAGE Handbook of Developmental Psychology and Early Childhood Education explores a range of issues in early childhood development and education. readers are guided through a wide range of educational and developmental discourses, arranged across the following thematic parts: Part One: Emotional Development; Part Two: Social Development; Part Three: Play, Development and Learning; Part Four: Memory and Understanding; Part Five: Learning, Language and Literacy; Part Six: Executive Functions, Metacognition and Self-Regulation.

The chapters in this book provide an opportunity for readers to deepen their understanding of how colonization and coloniality impacted knowledge creation in society and the field of psychology, including thought-provoking resources that explore the subject matter. The book also underscores how coloniality continues to reverberate in many aspects of psychology today. It emphasizes how people's subjectivity and connections to diverse social groups are influenced by history, context, and oppression; how these populations actively resist and survive attacks on their humanity; and how knowledge production is shaped not only by how data is interpreted but also by the questions asked.

This new edition provides cutting-edge and comprehensive coverage of the key theoretical perspectives, assessment methods, and interventions in forensic psychology. The chapters address substantive topics such as acquisitive crime, domestic violence, mass murder, and sexual violence, while also exploring emerging areas of research such as the expansion of cybercrime, particularly child sexual exploitation, as well as aspects of terrorism and radicalisation. Reflecting the global reach of forensic psychology and its wide range of perspectives, the international team of contributors emphasise diversity and cross-reference between adults, adolescents, and children to deliver a contemporary picture of the discipline.

An essential and comprehensive resource for students and academics interested in topics in cognitive psychology, this handbook covers topics such as perceptual issues, attention memory, knowledge representation, language, emotional influences, judgment, problem solving and the study of individual differences in cognition.

This Handbook presents a broad overview of the current research carried out in environmental psychology which puts into perspective quality of life and relationships with living spaces, and shows how this original analytical framework can be used to understand different environmental and societal issues. The issue of quality of life and environment is becoming increasingly significant with, at a local level, problems resulting from different types of annoyances, such as pollution and noise, while, at a global level, there is the central question of climate change with its harmful consequences for humans and the planet.

The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology synthesizes decades of literature in one extraordinary volume. Comprising chapters from the foremost scholars in clinical psychology, the handbook provides even and authoritative coverage of the research, practice, and policy factors that combine toform today's clinical psychology landscape. In addition to core sections on topics such as training, assessment, diagnosis, and intervention, the handbook includes valuable chapters devoted to new and emerging issues in the clinical field, including heath care reforms, cultural factors, and technological innovations and challenges. Eachchapter offers a review of the most pertinent literature, outlining current issues and identifying possibilities for future research.

The first section, Sexual Behavior, includes types of sexual behaviors (clinical and non-clinical), and behaviors and media associated with sexual behavior, including pornography and laws related to regulating sexual behavior. The second section, Sexual Orientation, reviews the many aspects of what is known about sexual attraction, sexual orientation and identity, and what is known about its development. Section three, Relationships and Reproduction, covers what is known about pair-bonding, mate choice, and sexual/romantic relationships across the animal kingdom, as well as pregnancy and reproduction. Section four, Gender, reviews topics such as what is gender and gender identity, cross-cultural aspects of gender and gender identity, and sex reassignment. Lastly, section five, Sexuality and Gender Science, reviews the history of sexuality and gender science (including its major contributors), typical research methodologies, and research societies and journals whose focus is related to sexuality and/or gender research.