Film Studies

REF PN 1998 A57
Covers the years from 1921 to 1970 in 10 volumes

Fully updated to include the 1999 Oscars, this is a comprehensive, illustrated, chronological record of the whole history of cinema. It features the stories and movies, with contemporary advertising and newspaper style reports.

This volume clearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image as well as defining key theoretical terms.

Textbook

Independent filmmaking is often regarded as a relatively recent phenomenon, yet the so-called movement has actually existed as long as movies themselves.

This encyclopedia examines individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production.

In this major A-Z work, 'early cinema' refers to the first 20 or 25 years of the cinema's emergence at the end of the nineteenth and beginning of the twentieth centuries, from the early 1890s to the middle 1910s.

Thirty-five years in the making, and destined to be the last word in fanta-film references! This incredible 1,017-page resource provides vital credits on over 9,000 films (1896-1999) of horror, fantasy, mystery, science fiction, heavy melodrama, and film noir. Comprehensive cast lists include: directors, writers, cinematographers, and composers. Also includes plot synopses, critiques, re-title/translation information, running times, photographs, and several cross-referenced indexes (by artist, year, song, etc.). Paperback.

The Encyclopedia of Television, 2nd Edtion is the first major reference work to provide description, history, analysis, and information on more than 1100 subjects related to television in its international context.

Long considered the undisputed bible of the movie industry, Ephraim Katz's The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film. Unrivaled in its scope, this intelligent and engrossing A to Z reference contains nearly 8,000 entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including: Directors, producers, stars, screenwriters, and cinematographers Styles, genres, and schools of filmmaking Motion picture studios and film centers Film-related organizations and events Industry jargon and technical terms Inventions, inventors, and equipment.

This unique reference work is designed to bridge the gap between guides and dictionaries that are primarily academic and theoretical and those that deal mainly in technical jargon. Above all, it is aimed at students of film and media who are likely to encounter a wide range of specialist language in a variety of places--in film reviews, critical essays, interviews with filmmakers and stars, and academic and Internet publications. The Film Studies Dictionary contains around 1,000 entries ranging from terms that have always puzzled audiences such as "best boy" and "gaffer" to those required by specialist students of film such as "post-colonial theory" and "third cinema."

This comprehensive resource provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers through the spring of 2000. Entrants include legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies. This 4th edition includes more than 260 new entries and more than 200 updated entries. Includes more than 1,600 photographs.

CAlphabetical, country-by.-country survey of notable films & Filmmakers. Continues from PN 1993.3 I544 1968-1989