Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Research Assistance
Basic Research Guide
A detailed guide covering all of the basics of the research process, from planning research, to finding sources, to evaluating and citing your sources.
Click on "All Guides" to see a complete list of all of the disciplines/ subject areas covered by our guides. Most subject-specific guides have links to key journals and databases in the field, as well as other helpful resources.
There are dedicated Librarians for each subject area at the University of Winnipeg. They can help you track down high quality sources, and refine your search strategies. Contact your Librarian to schedule a research consultation or suggest books for purchase.
11 Search Tips to Know and Use
Sometimes it feels like your database search results aren't giving what you expected to find. This article highlights some of the most effective search commands. Hopefully, these will give you greater control over your searches.
Find Library Resources
Search Books, Articles, and More
The main search box on the UofW Library site searches almost everything in our entire collection, as well as collections across the world. Look for keywords, author names, titles and more, all from one place.
Journals by Title
Looking for an entire run of a journal to browse, or find out what we have at the UofW? Go to our Journal Title search - you can search for the exact name of the Journal, or keywords in the title, or even browse by Subject Area.
Databases are aggregators of journals, periodicals, abstracts, and other electronic content. On this page, you can generate lists of databases by the subject area you are interested in, or by the type of content you are looking for. Also contains a link to the personalized UofW version of Google Scholar!