Experiential Learning
This guide will help students find and access library resources related to experiential and service learning.
Librarian
Overview
This guide will help students find and access library resources related to experiential and service learning. If you're exploring this growing research area, you'll find links and strategies for accessing related books, articles, and databases here. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me using the links in the left had column.
Key Concepts and Definitions:
- Experiential Learning (Oxford Dictionary of Education)"Sometimes called ‘learning by doing’, this type of learning allows the pupil or student to learn through practical experience rather than through formal instruction by the teacher. The emphasis is on practice rather than on theory. To some extent a belief in the efficacy of experiential learning underpins the provision of teaching practice for trainee teachers and of work experience for trainees on vocational programmes."
- Learning Styles (Oxford Dictionary of Education)"A concept based on the theory that some students learn in a different way from others and so need to be taught in a way that makes it easy for them to learn. Where their preferred learning opportunities are not provided, students may perform less well and therefore mistakenly be assumed to be underachieving through lack of ability. Three widely recognized categories of learning styles are visual, auditory, and kinaesthetic."
- David Kolb (Oxford Dictionary of Education)"His name is, perhaps, synonymous with the experiential learning model he developed in collaboration with Roger Fry in the 1970s, which is discussed in his book "Experiential Learning: Experience as the Source of Learning and Development" (1984)."
Featured Books
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of EducationCall Number: LB 15 E47 2003ISBN: 9780028655949Publication Date: 2003"This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world."
Psychology of Classroom Learning: an Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9780028661704Publication Date: 2008"Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom."
Encyclopedia of Distributed LearningISBN: 9781452265230Publication Date: 2004"... includes over 275 entries, each written by a specialist in that area, giving the reader comprehensive coverage of all aspects of distributed learning, including use of group processes, self-assessment, the life-line experience, and developing a learning contract."
Encyclopedia of Distance LearningCall Number: LC 5211 E516 2005ISBN: 9781591405559Publication Date: 2005"... provides a comprehensive coverage of the evolution of distance learning, educational programs through distance learning, technologies of distance learning, program design and implementation, program delivery methods, distance learning and work force, and assessing effectiveness of distance learning programs."
