Genealogy: East European Genealogical Society Collection
EEGS Events
| ebruary 2020 Meeting Notice |
| East European Genealogical Society |
| CHORTITZA MENNONITE GRAVESTONE PROJECT IN UKRAINE Presentation by Werner Toews Author of Sketches from Siberia The village of Chortitza -- now part of the city of Zaporizhia, on the Dnieper River -- was the first and largest settlement of Mennonites in Ukraine, founded in 1789 at the invitation of Russian Empress Catherine II. The recent demolition of an abandoned building in the city has uncovered a foundation that incorporates more than a hundred gravestones taken from a Mennnonite cemetery destroyed by the former Soviet Union in the 1930s. The restoration of the stones, some of them old enough to commemorate original founders of the community, is being spearheaded by a young Ukrainian historian, Max Shtatsky. The forced exodus of Mennonites from the area in 1943 brought many descendants of the Chortitza colonists to Canada, with the majority settling in Manitoba. |
| Wednesday February 19, 2020 7:00 PM |
| Thomson Funeral Home |
| 669 Broadway Ave. |
| Winnipeg, Manitoba |
(Free, well-lit parking lot on Sherbrook side of building) |
| Please Bring Interested Family and Friends VISITORS WELCOME |
| http://www.eegsociety.org |
About
The collections of the East European Genealogical Society are held in the Special Collections room on the 5th floor of the University of Winnipeg Library, along with Serials holdings.
The holdings in the EEGS collection are listed here and are updated regularly.
Visit the EEGS on Facebook!
Upcoming EEGS Events
- October 2017 MeetingLiber Mortuorum: Examining Death Registers of Galicia, presented by Marni Domolewski
EEGS Research Tips
The EEGS does not endorse the services of any agency or organization but provides information only. The information in the sites listed above has not necessarily been researched in detail.
Geneological Research Links
General:
Abbreviations & Acronyms for Genealogy - The Accepted: Genealogical abbreviations and Acronyms - found from various sites.
101 Best Genealogy Websites for 2014: Family Tree Magazine
Five Tips to Discover Your Eastern European Roots by Lisa Alzo: If you have no idea where or how to begin searching for your Eastern European Roots, or have heard that it’s too difficult, this blog lists five tips to help jumpstart your research.
Genealogy Search Engine: Genealogy in Time Magazine (Check the website for additional genealogy supports.)
Google Translate: (Type email address in designated box.)
Library and Archives Canada: Canadian Census, Immigration, Military. Border-entry, land and vital records and others.
Maps of East Europe: Mapster. The website is available in Polish, English, and German. Click on the British flag in the upper right corner of the webpage to change languages.
Mary’s Genealogy Treasures: A condensed list of websites for Canada, as well as world websites.
Weekly Newsletter "Genealogy in Time”: This newsletter provides genealogical tips. It also browses other genealogy websites, listing the latest releases of data by country.
Canadian Resources:
Manitoba Probate Records 1871-1930: Browsable Images of estate files, application books and indexes. Some indexes up to 1970
- Manitoba Church Records 1800-1959: Browsable Images of baptisms, marriages, deaths and other records from some Catholic, Lutheran and Unitarian parishes in Manitoba.
- Manitoba on-line genealogy records:
- Saskatchewan Probate Estate Files 1887-1931: Index and images of estate files from SK judicial districts. The estate records contain loose papers relating to the settlement of estates including such matters as provision for heirs including minor children as well as distribution of funds, land and property. This project was indexed in partnership with the Saskatchewan Genealogical Society. (Searchable Index and Browsable Images)
- Saskatchewan on-line genealogy records:
- Records for Canadian Provinces:
Canadian Vital Records at Familysearch.org -
United States:
Castle Garden America’s First Immigration Centre: Search Ellis Island arrivals at New York City from 1820 through 1892, 11 million records.
European Sources:
Best Internet Resources for East European Genealogy: free webinar by Lisa Alzo now online for a limited time.
How to read vital records found on microfilm: Matthew Bielawa has created some great tutorials on his website. Follow the link and scroll down the page to the tutorials section.
Ukraine, Donetsk Church Records: Family search has added 415,748 images of Ukraine, Donetsk Church books, 1809-1928.
Catholic Germans from Russia and Romania (Germans from Russia Heritage Collection): provides information from contributor’s family history research such as immigrants, family trees, cemeteries and others.
ANNO AustriaN Newspaper Online: The Austrian National Library virtual newspaper reading room contains historical newspapers and magazines. The website is in German but you can use the Google Translator and FAQ to obtain English.
PolishRoots The Polish Genealogical Source: Getting-started guide, maps, helpful links and back issues of the Gen Dobry! e-zine
Poland, Częstochowa Church Records: Family Search has updated the Roman Catholic Church Books, 1226-1950 collection
GenTeam Additional Databases Online: The collection currently contains almost 12 million entries.
- Diocese Passau: Corrections and new entries
- Citizen Rolls from Bratislava/Preßburg
- Marriage Index for Vienna 1542 to approximately 1860
- Index of the Roman Catholic Baptisms from Vienna
- Registry-Indices from Lower and Upper Austria as well as Moravia: Lower Austria (Arbesbach, Bischofstetten, Dobersberg, Grafenschlag, Großebersdorf , Heidenreichstein, Obermeisling, Rappottenstein, Schleinbach, Schrems, Waldenstein and Wolkersdorf); Upper Austria (Maria Neustift, St. Ulrich bei Steyr); Burgenland (Lockenhaus); Bohemia (Bukownik/Bukovnik, Schönbrunn/Jedlova); Moravia Althart/Stare Hobzi, Zlabings/Slavonice
- Familiants in Prague
- Jewish Indices of Prague for the years 1784-1804
“Würzeln in den Böhmischen Ländern - Heimat online” (Roots in the Bohemian Lands - Homeland Online) Overview of German and international websites where home landscapes, circles and locations are presented in Bohemia, Moravia and Sudentenschlesien.
(in German); Translate this page (In English)
Vital records (birth, marriage and death registrations) in the Kingdom of Poland: Polish-Jewish Genealogy — Questions and Answers (While the title states Polish-Jewish, this info may be useful to researchers with Polish roots.)
Polish Roots. 2nd Edition, by Rosemary Chorzempa
Bukovina Society of America - 25th Anniversary: This website provides resources, families and village contacts, contact list of Bukovina Genealogists, Newsletters on-line, links, store and more.
Gen Team Facebook:
- (German text)
- AiOeU - Ahnenforschung in Österreich-Ungarn (Family Research in Austria and Hungary) (German text)
- Slovakia Church and Synagogue Books: 1592-1910 with about 33 million records, Ancestry.com (fee payment required) http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=60146
- Czech Republic, Censuses: Updated “1800-1945" collection.
- Patronymic Names: post by Vera Miler, Find Lost Russian & Ukrainian Family, Uncovering the Secrets of Finding Family and Records in the Former USSR Blog
The Galizien German Ortfamilienbücher: Collective genealogies of German villages in Galicia.
Online German Genealogy Records & Databases: German Roots, Resources for German Genealogy on the Internet
Lutheran Records in Russian Poland: The Society of German Genealogy in Eastern Europe. Includes 160 parishes with a list of current records known to be online.
A Sticky Situation: The Perils of Sticky Notes: Archives of Canada Blog, The reason to not use sticky notes on your family history documents and materials.