It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is meant to provide you with some starting points for research in this subject area. If you are new to research and would like help with more general practices and techniques in library research, consider using one of our How-to guides, including the Beginner's Guide to Library Research.
This major five-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. Our copy is fully viewable and searchable online through Oxford Reference.
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. It focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Born of the New Left, it is both international and interdisciplinary, and provides access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
"For more than a quarter of a century, HRQ has published articles by experts from around the world writing for the specialist and non-specialist alike. The Quarterly provides up-to-date information on important developments within the United Nations and regional human rights organizations, both governmental and non-governmental." Note: the back issues and the current issues are held under two different subscriptions, both linked above.
"... a peer-reviewed forum for scholars to explore concerns in human rights and humanitarian law and policy relevant to Canadian society. In addition to traditional legal scholarship, the CJHR welcomes submissions from varying disciplines, including the liberal arts and social sciences."
The Official Document System (ODS) is a database of UN documents containing fulltext, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward. It includes documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN; some documents are also available in German.