Psychology
Information resources for students working on topics in psychology
Need help?
Joshua Herter
he/him
Contact:
UWinnipeg Library
Centennial Hall | 4CM05B
Centennial Hall | 4CM05B
Subjects: Marriage & Family Therapy, Psychology
Journal Articles and Databases
Academic journal articles are the backbone of scholarly research in psychology. They are written by and for academics and are published by universities or scholarly associations. Importantly, most are peer-reviewed, which means that articles are reviewed by a panel of experts in the field of study before they appear in the journal. The best way to find these articles is to search in subject-specific databases, which collect and organize research from a particular field of study. Below you'll find a list of some of the most useful databases and journal titles in the field.
- PsycInfo [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO contains abstracts of peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the disciplines of behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage spaning from the 1800s to the present in dozens of languages.
- Web of Science [Web of Science] This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a platform that provides access to citations, abstracts, and conference proceedings allowing for in-depth exploration of fields within the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from many research journals. It also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching, which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Other unique features this database possesses are Analyze Results, and Create Citation Reports.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's free, web searchable database which includes the online version of Index Medicus. It is an international index to biomedical research covering medicine, bio-medical sciences, and psychiatry and contains indexing and citation from 1946 to present, and provides access to open access articles.
DSM-5 Resources
- DSM-5 Library [PsychiatryOnline] This link opens in a new windowThe DSM-5 Library is a series of ebooks that aid health professionals and legal specialists etc... in diagnosing and classifying mental disorders. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice and primary care.
Select Journal TItles
Select a link below to browse or search within a particular journal title.
- American Psychologist"Features empirical, theoretical, and practical articles that advance the field of psychology." (UlrichsWeb)
- Annual Review of Psychology"The Annual Review of Psychology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more." (publisher's description)
- Canadian Psychology"Features generalist articles in the areas of theory, research, and practice relevant to a broad cross-section of psychologists." (UlrichsWeb)
- Journal of Abnormal Psychology"Features articles on basic research and theory in the broad field of abnormal behavior, its determinants, and its correlates." (UlrichsWeb)
- Journal of Personality"... publishes studies in the fields of personality and behavior dynamics that focus on personality development and individual differences in the cognitive affective and interpersonal domains." (UlrichsWeb)
- Psychological Bulletin"Comprehensive and integrative reviews and interpretations of critical substantive and methodological issues and practical problems from all the areas of psychology." (UlrichsWeb)
- Psychological Review"... publishes articles that make important theoretical contributions to any area of scientific psychology, including systematic evaluation of alternative theories.." (publisher's description)
- Psychological Science"Provides a forum for research, theory and application in psychology and the closely related behavioral, cognitive, neural and social sciences." (UlrichsWeb)
Copyright