Indigenous Studies
This guide is a starting point for students in Indigenous Studies, or for other interdisciplinary studies related to Indigenous peoples.
Getting Started
The reference collection is a great place to begin your research. These short relevant articles will give the basic understanding you need to formulate a good research question.
Online Encyclopedias
-
Atlas of the North American Indian
by
Call Number: Ref G 1106 E1W3 2009ISBN: 0816039755Publication Date: 2009"The volume is divided into several broad subject areas, such as "Ancient Native Peoples," "Native Lifeways," "Indian Wars," "Native Land Cessions and a Changing Way of Life," and "Contemporary Native North Americans." The subject divisions follow a chronological pattern and explore Native history across the continent, in no way marginalizing Central America or Canada." (School Library Journal) -
The Canadian Encyclopedia
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0771020996"... the largest, most comprehensive book ever published in Canada for the general reader." (publisher's description). Many of the major indigenous studies topics are listed under "Native People". -
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: ebook; print copy at REF GT 2850 E53 2001 v.1ISBN: 9780684805689Publication Date: 2002-12-17Volume 1: "American Indians: Prehistoric and Historical Overview; Contemporary Issues" (pp. 71-79. -
Native American Women
by
Call Number: E 98 W8N38 2001ISBN: 9780415930208Publication Date: 2001-06-12This A-Z Dictionary contains 275 biographical entries on Native American women, past and present, from many different walks of life -
Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples byPublication Date: 1996At QSpace at Queen's University
Online Dictionaries
-
Online Cree DictionaryMiyo Wahkohtowin Community Education Authority (MWCEA) and Dr. Earle Waugh Dir. Center for Culture & Health Family Medicine, University of Alberta (U of A) are partnering to develop a web based interactive First Nations language portal with dictionary and curriculum based resources to further the development for Cree language in Canada.
-
The Ojibwe People's DictionaryThe Ojibwe People's Dictionary is a searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers. It is also a gateway into the Ojibwe collections at the Minnesota Historical Society. Along with detailed Ojibwe language entries and voices, you will find beautiful cultural items, photographs, and excerpts from relevant historical documents. Whenever possible, we provide examples of documents in the Ojibwe language.