It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is a starting point for students in Indigenous Studies, or for other interdisciplinary studies related to Indigenous peoples.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library.
Provides access to the practices and theories of radical social change, and focuses on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
"“There is a large array of document types published on this site including correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets. The earliest documents are from the seventeenth century and the latest the mid-point of the twentieth century.”
"“Since its founding in 1905, The Champlain Society has sought to make available significant and interesting documents in Canadian history. At different times over the years, the Society has worked in cooperation first with the Hudson's Bay Company and then the Ontario Government to produce series of volumes on themes of mutual interest. The Society's publication program continues with the General Series, presenting key and often little-known documents on an aspect of the Canadian experience, edited and introduced by an expert in the field. Under the guidance of the Society's General Editor, the series is an accessible, engaging, and informed source for the study of Canada.”
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is the new name for Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. It contains citations dating from the sixteenth century to the present for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, and is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
"In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and the general public. The premier journal in Native American studies, it publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts. It is published by the American Indian Studies Center at the University of California, Los Angeles."
"he journal publishes anthropological, historical, sociological, political, legal, education and cultural issues affecting First Nations people. Although the majority of articles deal with Indigenous peoples in Canada, it also publishes articles dealing with Indigenous peoples world-wide."
"An undisciplinary, peer-reviewed, online Open Access journal committed to supporting and advancing decolonization scholarship, practice, and activism within and, more importantly, beyond and against, the academy."
IIPJ is a peer-reviewed, policy-relevant research journal addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous peoples throughout the world. IIPJ has a very specific set of goals: To promote evidence based policymaking; To encourage quality research based on partnerships with Indigenous peoples; To develop networks of policy researchers and policy makers, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous, and their communities; To improve scholarship related to Indigenous issues; To spark debate on important policy issues facing countries and peoples around the world.
"... disseminates scholarship across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Law and Education in the field of Indigenous Studies. Indigenous scholars from around the world share common experiences of colonisation. Our collective politics have been shaped by our intellectual traditions which inform our work within the academy."
"As the journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association, Native American and Indigenous Studies (NAIS) is based in North America but seeks to bridge the distances across the Indigenous world. "
"... provides inquiries into the Indian past and its relationship to the vital present. Its aim is to become an interdisciplinary instrument to assist indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits."