Economics
Emphasis on the historical, institutional, and theoretical background of modern economics from a Canadian perspective
Recommended Databases for Economics
- ABI/INFORM Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowThe ABI/INFORM Collection features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- EconLit [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowEconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
- IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe International Monetary Fund's (IMF) publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators. The IMF eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies.
- JSTOR [JSTOR] This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, as well as books and primary sources published by various publishers and presses. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new windowThe National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. It is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowSAGE Journals is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- ScienceDirect [Elsevier] This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier. It contains material across the disciplines of sciences, and social sciences.
- SpringerLink Online This link opens in a new windowSpringer Link is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed journals, ebooks and reference works published by SpringerNature. It contains material across a range of disciplines from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
E-Journals (Open Access)
- International Journal of Economics and FinanceInternational Journal of Economics and Finance (IJEF) is a peer-reviewed journal, published by Canadian Center of Science and Education. The scopes of the journal include, but not limited to, the following topic areas: economics, accounting and finance.The journal is published in both printed and online versions. The online version is free access and download.
- International Productivity MonitorThe International Productivity Monitor is published by the Centre for the Study of Living Standards (CSLS) for Industry Canada. The objective of the Monitor is to focus attention on the importance of productivity for improving living standards and quality of life. The Monitor publishes high-quality articles on productivity issues, trends and developments in Canada and other countries and serves as a vehicle for the international discussion of productivity topics.
- Journal of Applied EconometricsThe JAE Data Archive, which is hosted by a server belonging to the Economics Department of Queen's University, contains data for all papers accepted after January, 1994, unless the data are confidential. There are also data for a few papers accepted earlier. Volume 10, No. 1 (1995) is the first issue in which all papers were accepted subject to the proviso that data be provided.
- Monthly Labor Review OnlineEstablished in 1915, Monthly Labor Review is the principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, an agency within the U.S. Department of Labor. Each month, economists, statisticians, and experts from the Bureau join with private sector professionals and State and local government specialists to provide a wealth of research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses.
- Theoretical EconomicsTheoretical Economics has become a leading field journal in economic theory. On July 1, 2009, the Econometric Society took over the management of the journal from the Society for Economic Theory. The Editorial Board and all the key policies of the journal remain the same. In particular, all content continues to be freely available. The journal now appears with every other issue of Econometrica, three times a year, in January, May, and September.
- OECD iLibraryWhile the (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) OECD iLibrary is a subscription-based service and requires proper access to some full-text titles, many content areas are freely available to any site visitor, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables, and more.
- World Bank - World Development Indicators (WDI)Browse 298 featured indicators from the World Bank's most popular dataset, World Development Indicators (WDI). The WDI includes data from 209 countries spanning from 1960 to 2010. Browse 1000+ WDI indicators from the "All Indicators". Please visit the World DataBank to access 7000+ indicators from additional datasets.
- World Bank - Global Development Finance (GDF)Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2010, for most reporting countries.
- World Bank - Global Economic Monitor (GEM)This resource provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income and developing countries. Daily data updates are provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage (updated daily and populated upon availability) is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade.
- World Bank - Africa Development Indicators (ADI)The primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Copyright