Data are information or characteristics collected through observation, meaning there are many different types of data including:
Statistics (Aggregate Data): Unlike microdata, aggregate data, or statistics, are not in their 'raw form'. They are the result of statistical analysis, often compiled and presented in a summary report or a table. Percentages, averages, and ratios are examples of aggregate data.
Geospatial Data: Data that includes geographic positioning information relative to a coordinate system. Geospatial data usually needs to be interpreted using GIS software.
Time Series Data: Observations of the same variable made over time, such as climate data.
Textual Data: Systematically collected material consisting of written, printed, or electronically published words, typically either purposefully written or transcribed from speech.
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.Odesi is a web-based tool for data exploration, extraction and analysis. It searches for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online. As well, it contains a digital repository for social science data the core of which is Statistics Canada's public-use survey data.
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is the Statistics Canada computerized database which contains time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. CANSIM I database is no longer being updated.
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.Provides access to commonly requested Canadian census data.
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.SDA (Survey Documentation Analysis) is a microdata analysis and subsetting resource. It is a series of software programs that presents documentation associated with survey data sets, facilitates web-based analysis of survey data, and includes procedures for creating customized subsets of data that can be downloaded for use in Excel and other statistical software packages.