Statistics & Data
Quick Links
Manitoba Data
- Data MB Access government data sets on agriculture, economy, transportation, education, government, health, environment, emergency management, etc.
- Manitoba Bureau of Statistics The Manitoba Bureau of Statistics (MBS) is a branch within the Finance Policy and Legislation Division with the Department of Finance. The MBS is the government’s central statistics agency, responsible for the compilation, management, analysis, coordination and dissemination of economic, demographic and social statistics for the province of Manitoba.
- City of Winnipeg Open Data Portal Explore city data about finance, planning, services and more.
Canadian Data
- Statistics Canada Look here first! In addition to conducting a Census every five years, there are about 350 active surveys on virtually all aspects of Canadian life.
- Open Data Portal (Government of Canada) Data and statistics from many branches of government, from agriculture to zoology. Includes climate data, geospatial data and economic data.
- Stats Canada 'The Daily' The Daily is Statistics Canada's official release bulletin, the Agency's first line of communication with the media and the public. The Daily issues news releases on current social and economic conditions and announces new products. It provides a comprehensive overview of new information available from Statistics Canada.
Librarian
Looking for data on a specific topic? The following page consists of curated resources ideal for finding data in particular fields or topics. If you can't find what you're looking for, contact the Research Data Management Librarian for help.
Business & Economy Statistics
Business & Economy Statistics Resources
Canadian
- Statistics Canada Data by SubjectBusiness & Economic topics include:
- Business and consumer services and culture
- Business performance and ownership
- Digital economy and society
- Economic accounts
- International trade
- Manufacturing
- Prices and price indexes
- Retail and wholesale
And more! - Canadian Industry StatisticsCanadian Industry Statistics (CIS) analyses industry data on many economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada. CIS looks at industry trends and financial information, such as GDP, Labour Productivity, Manufacturing and Trade data.
- Trade Data OnlineTrade Data Online provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.
- Odesi This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Note: Odesi recently moved from the Nesstar platform to the Borealis platform. Check out the New Odesi User Guide now available.
Odesi is a web-based tool for data exploration, extraction and analysis. It searches for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online. As well, it contains a digital repository for social science data the core of which is Statistics Canada's public-use survey data.
- Penn World Tables [CHASS] This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level. - Trade Analyser [CHASS] This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Trade Analyser consists of the Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) database and World Trade database produced by Statistics Canada, International Trade Division. - CANSIM [CHASS] This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is the Statistics Canada computerized database which contains time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. CANSIM I database is no longer being updated.
Foreign and International
- Census Bureau: Business and Economy (US)The Census Bureau produces economic data across the entire economy on a monthly, quarterly, yearly, and five-year basis.
- UNCOMTRADEDetailed trade statistics from 170 countries: imports, exports, trading partners, and commodities from 1962 onwards.
- World development indicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. 1960 - present.
- UNdata This link opens in a new windowUNdata is a single point of entry for multiple UN statistical databases and allows browsing by either the data series or through a keyword search. It contains features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries which aid research, and covers a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
- Asian Development Bank - Statistical Database System (SDBS) This link opens in a new windowThe Key Indicators Database (KIDB) is the Asian Development Bank's (ADB's) central statistical database and one of the world's most comprehensive resources for macroeconomic and social indicators from across Asia and the Pacific.
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.
Criminal Justice Statistics
Criminal Justice Statistics Resources
Canadian
- Statistics Canada: Crime and justiceStatistics Canada's subject guide to crime and justice statistics includes data on:
- Correctional Services
- Courts
- Crimes and offences
- Police Services
- Victimization
And more
- Odesi This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Note: Odesi recently moved from the Nesstar platform to the Borealis platform. Check out the New Odesi User Guide now available.
Odesi is a web-based tool for data exploration, extraction and analysis. It searches for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online. As well, it contains a digital repository for social science data the core of which is Statistics Canada's public-use survey data.
- CANSIM [CHASS] This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is the Statistics Canada computerized database which contains time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. CANSIM I database is no longer being updated.
- Winnipeg CrimeMaps & Calls for Service MapTwo interactive maps by the Winnipeg Police Service to visualize statistical data on crimes, as well as police activity, in Winnipeg's communities and neighbourhoods. Select and filter crime and safety events by various categories and locations.
Racial Injustice and Police Brutality
- Mapping Police Violence (USA)Mapping Police Violence is a research collaborative collecting comprehensive data on police killings nationwide (US) to quantify the impact of police violence in communities.
- Pew Research Center: Discrimination and PrejudiceSee the latest Pew Research center reports and data on discrimination and prejudice issues.
- Deadly Force (CBC)In the absence of a national accounting of such encounters between Canadian citizens and law enforcement, a team of CBC researchers spent six months assembling the first country-wide database of every person who died or was killed during a police intervention.
Note: The database is located at the bottom of the article. - Wikipedia: List of killings by law enforcement officers in CanadaThis is a list of people killed by non-military law enforcement officers in Canada. The list includes deaths caused by officers both on and off duty, and does not discriminate by method or motivation. Inclusion in this list assigns neither wrongdoing nor justification to the victim or the officer involved; it is strictly documentation of the occurrence of a death. ***Note: This list is incomplete; there are no official statistics on fatal shootings by law enforcement officers in Canada.***
- [Article]: Statistics Canada to start collecting race-based crime data (CBC)"Statistics Canada says it plans to start collecting race-based crime data — a step that comes amid mounting criticism of how law enforcement agencies across Canada police marginalized communities..."
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.
Environment Statistics
Canadian Environmental and Climate Statistics
- Statistics Canada: Environment StatisticsStatistics Canada's subject guide to the environment in Canada includes data on:
- Air and climate
- Environmental-economic accounts
- Environmental protection, technology and practices
- Land, oceans, ecosystems and biodiversity
- Natural disasters
- Solid waste and hazardous substances
- Water and wastewater
And more - Open Science and Data Platform (Canada)Access data and scientific publications to help understand cumulative effects and development activities in Canada.
- Historical Climate Data (Canada)Access historical weather, climate data, and related information for numerous locations across Canada. Temperature, precipitation, degree days, relative humidity, wind speed and direction, monthly summaries, averages, extremes and Climate Normals, are some of the information you will find on this site.
- Water Level and Flow (Canada)Explore real-time and historical water level and flow data collected at hydrometric stations across Canada.
- Canadian environmental sustainability indicatorsEnvironmental indicators on air, climate, water, nature, and human influence.
- Data Manitoba This link opens in a new windowData Manitoba is a portal for accessing government data sets.
International and Foreign
- Climate Change Data (World Bank)Data here cover climate systems, exposure to climate impacts, resilience, greenhouse gas emissions, and energy use. Other indicators relevant to climate change are found under other data pages, particularly Environment, Agriculture & Rural Development, Energy & Mining, Health, Infrastructure, Poverty, and Urban Development.
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.
Geography Statistics
Canadian Geography Data and Statistics
- Statistics Canada This link opens in a new windowStatistics Canada searches research papers, the Daily, the Census, and CANSIM (no Census Tract searching) and more. This site provides access to some PDF files, while other documents will need to be location in our subscription databases, library collections or from other libraries.
- Odesi This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Note: Odesi recently moved from the Nesstar platform to the Borealis platform. Check out the New Odesi User Guide now available.
Odesi is a web-based tool for data exploration, extraction and analysis. It searches for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online. As well, it contains a digital repository for social science data the core of which is Statistics Canada's public-use survey data.
- Canadian Census Analyser [CHASS] This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Provides access to commonly requested Canadian census data.
- Census Community Profile (2021)This profile presents information from the 2021 Census of Population for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities and census tracts.
International
- UNdata This link opens in a new windowUNdata is a single point of entry for multiple UN statistical databases and allows browsing by either the data series or through a keyword search. It contains features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries which aid research, and covers a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
- World development indicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. 1960 - present.
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.
Kinesiology & Applied Health Statistics
Health Statistics Resources
Canada
- Statistics Canada: HealthStatistics Canada's subject guide to health statistics includes data on:
- Disability
- Diseases and physical health conditions
- Environmental factors
- Health care services
- Health measures
- Life expectancy and deaths
- Lifestyle and social conditions
- Mental health and well-being
- Pregnancy and births
- Prevention and detection of disease - Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)CIHI provides data and analysis on Canadian health systems and the health of Canadians. Data are provided from hospitals, regional health authorities, medical practitioners and governments.
- Odesi This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Note: Odesi recently moved from the Nesstar platform to the Borealis platform. Check out the New Odesi User Guide now available.
Odesi is a web-based tool for data exploration, extraction and analysis. It searches for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online. As well, it contains a digital repository for social science data the core of which is Statistics Canada's public-use survey data.
Foreign and International
- UNdata This link opens in a new windowUNdata is a single point of entry for multiple UN statistical databases and allows browsing by either the data series or through a keyword search. It contains features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries which aid research, and covers a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (US)Browse health data and statistics by topic, build custom tables, and find CDC publications and reports.
- National Center for Health Statistics (US)Health statistics and data (US) on a range of health topics.
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.
Historical Statistics
Canadian Historical Statistics
- InfoGuide: Historical resources (Statistics Canada)Research guide from the Statistics Canada Library. The guide is a starting point to assist with finding historical resources; it is not an exhaustive list.
- Historical Statistics of CanadaContaining Canadian statistical tables from 1867 to mid-1970s.
- Canadian Census by Year (UofT Library Guide)Browse through the side menu to explore census data for each census year.
- Canadian Census by YearExplore census data for each census year. Compiled by UofT Map and Data Library.
- Early Census of CanadaElectronic reproduction of an 1876 publication which includes 343 tables from 98 Censuses taken between 1665 and 1871. Includes data on social and economic conditions in Atlantic Canada, New France, Lower Canada, Upper Canada, and Western Canada.
- Canadian Elections DatabaseThis database contains voting information down to the district level for federal, provincial, and territorial elections. Federal election coverage from 1874 to 2011.
- Canada Year Book Historical Collection 1867-1967The Canada Year Book Historical Collection 1867 to 1967: historical text, tables and maps on Canadian society, events, and the economy: population, industry, trade, immigration, labour, transportation, government, etc.
- World development indicatorsThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. 1960 - present.
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.
Indigenous Peoples Data and Statistics
Data and Statistics collected by Indigenous Peoples in Canada
- First Nations Data CentreThe First Nations Data Centre is a Knowledge Translation resource from First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC) that provides access to published, unpublished, and record-level data from our respected national survey work.
Indian Residential Schools in Canada
- Canadian Residential School and Colonial Institutions Database 1620-PresentA comprehensive database of Residential Schools, Indian Hospitals, and Indian Day Schools in Canada
Statistics on Indigenous Peoples in Canada
- Statistics Canada: Indigenous PeoplesStatistics Canada's subject guide for statistics on Indigenous Peoples includes data on:
- Crime and victimization
- Demographic characteristics and Indigenous groups
- Health and well-being
- Education, learning and skills
- Income and spending
- Indigenous children
- Indigenous population profiles
- Labour and employment
- Language and culture
- Living arrangements and housing
And more - Scholars Portal Guide: Data on Racialized and Indigenous Populations in CanadaThis guide consists of a curated list of datasets that include ethnicity and race variables which can be used to facilitate anti-racism research in Canada. Although not comprehensive, the intention is to provide a starting point for researchers investigating topics about anti-racism and the impact of racism.
- First Nation Profiles(Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada)
The First Nation Profiles is a collection of information that describes individual First Nation communities across Canada. The profiles include general information on a First Nation along with more detailed information about its reserve(s), governance, federal funding, geography, registered population statistics and various Census statistics.
- Odesi This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Note: Odesi recently moved from the Nesstar platform to the Borealis platform. Check out the New Odesi User Guide now available.
Odesi is a web-based tool for data exploration, extraction and analysis. It searches for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online. As well, it contains a digital repository for social science data the core of which is Statistics Canada's public-use survey data.
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.
LGBTQ+ Statistics
Gender and Sexuality Statistics
- Statistics Canada: Sex, Gender, and Sexual Orientation StatisticsStatistics Canada's subject guide for sex, gender, and sexual orientation includes statistics on:
- Business performance and ownership
- Crime and justice
- Education, training and learning
- Families, households and marital status
- Health
- Income, pensions, spending and wealth
- Labour
- Time use
And more
- Odesi This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Note: Odesi recently moved from the Nesstar platform to the Borealis platform. Check out the New Odesi User Guide now available.
Odesi is a web-based tool for data exploration, extraction and analysis. It searches for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online. As well, it contains a digital repository for social science data the core of which is Statistics Canada's public-use survey data.
- CANSIM [CHASS] This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is the Statistics Canada computerized database which contains time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. CANSIM I database is no longer being updated.
- TMU Library's LGBTQ+ Studies Research GuideIncludes Statistics Canada and other resources.
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.
Political Science Statistics
Canadian Political Science and Civic Participation Statistics
- Canadian Elections DatabaseThis database contains voting information down to the district level for federal, provincial, and territorial elections. Federal election coverage from 1874 to 2011.
- Voter Turnout at Federal Elections and ReferendumsElections Canada
- Canadian Opinion Research ArchiveCORA provides access to public opinion survey data collected by major survey research firms in Canada since 1970.
Instructions for access
- Odesi This link opens in a new window
This resource can only be used by current students, faculty/staff.
Note: Odesi recently moved from the Nesstar platform to the Borealis platform. Check out the New Odesi User Guide now available.
Odesi is a web-based tool for data exploration, extraction and analysis. It searches for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online. As well, it contains a digital repository for social science data the core of which is Statistics Canada's public-use survey data.
For assistance with any of these resources, contact the Research Data Management Librarian.