East Asian Languages and Cultures
EALC 2707: Chinese Religions
This page features resources for the course EALC-2707: Chinese Religions. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Suggested Keywords:
- China religion
- Philosophy and religion China
- Religion and politics China
- Confucianism
- Buddhism China
- Taoism China
- Taoist philosophy
Books
Religious Studies in Contemporary China Collection
Concepts and Methods for the Study of Chinese Religions
Scholarly Journals
- Journal of Chinese ReligionsJCR is the longest-standing journal in the field of Chinese religions. It is a peer-reviewed, bi-annual academic journal that publishes research articles, book reviews, and other communications on all aspects of Chinese religions. JCR is published in affiliation with the Society for the Study of Chinese Religions.
- Review of Religion and Chinese SocietyAn international peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles and book reviews in social science and certain humanities disciplines. “Religion” is understood in the broadest sense, including various spiritualities and meaning-making systems of beliefs and practices. “Chinese society” includes those in mainland China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, and Chinese diasporic communities in Asia, North America, Europe, and elsewhere throughout the world.
Databases
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Cultural History is a digital reference tool comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections. It offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture [AM]
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 is a unique resource which encompasses a variety of primary source materials spanning nearly 200 years of China's interaction with the West. This collection includes detailed observations and reports written by Western missionaries, business people, travelers, and government representatives. Some distinguishing features of this collection include its numerous historical maps and diverse material types ranging from photographs and drawings to periodical literature.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.