East Asian Languages and Cultures

EALC 2772: Modern Chinese Literature in
Translation

This page features resources for the course EALC-2772: Modern Chinese Literature in Translation. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.

Suggested Keywords:

Chinese literature 20th century
Chinese literature 21st century
Chinese literature history and criticism
Psychoanalysis and literature China
Literature and history China

Books

Historical Dictionary of Modern Chinese Literature

The Birth of Twentieth-Century Chinese Literature

A Companion to Modern Chinese Literature

The Monster That Is History

Scholarly Journals

Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews
Established in 1978, CLEAR remains today the only Western-language journal devoted to Chinese literature. Each issue contains five-seven essays and articles on various aspects of traditional and modern literature and about the same number of detailed reviews, all in English.
Chinese Literature Today
The mission of Chinese Literature Today is to provide the finest English translations of and fresh critical essays about contemporary Chinese literature and culture. CLT grants the English-speaking world direct access to best-selling Chinese stories, celebrated Chinese poems, stimulating interviews, and illuminating literary essays on all aspects of contemporary Chinese culture.
Modern Chinese Literature and Culture
Publishes on literature of all genres, film and television, popular culture, performance and visual art, print and material culture, etc. Formerly Modern Chinese Literature (1984-1998).
Prism: Theory and Modern Chinese Literature
Presents cutting-edge research on modern literary production, dissemination, and reception in China and beyond. It also publishes works that study the shaping influence of traditional literature and culture on modern and contemporary China.

Databases

Bloomsbury Cultural History

Bloomsbury Cultural History is a digital reference tool comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections. It offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 [Adam Matthew]

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 is a unique resource which encompasses a variety of primary source materials spanning nearly 200 years of China's interaction with the West. This collection includes detailed observations and reports written by Western missionaries, business people, travelers, and government representatives. Some distinguishing features of this collection include its numerous historical maps and diverse material types ranging from photographs and drawings to periodical literature.