East Asian Languages and Cultures
Need Help?
East Asian Languages & Cultures: General Works
This page features reference books, scholarly journals, and databases that are generally helpful for studies in East Asian Languages and Cultures. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Scholarly Journals
- Asian Ethnology
This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to the promotion of scholarly research on the peoples and cultures of Asia. Began in China as Folklore Studies in 1942 and later moved to Japan as Asian Folklore Studies. Edited and published at Nanzan University in Nagoya, Japan, with the cooperation of Boston University. - Asian PhilosophyAn international journal covering Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Buddhist, and Islamic philosophic traditions. Topics include metaphysics, philosophy of mind, epistemology, logic, moral and social philosophy, aesthetics, jurisprudence, and comparison of Eastern and Western philosophical traditions.
- Inter-Asia Cultural StudiesIncludes discussion, reports and analysis from global critical circles, and especially from marginalised sites, with the aim of enhancing the communication and exchange between inter-Asia and other regions of the cultural studies world.
- Journal of Contemporary Asia (formerly Asian Folklore Studies)Aims to provide an alternative to mainstream perspectives on contemporary Asian issues and seeks to publish articles that deal with the broad problems of economic, political and social development of Asia.
Databases
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Cultural History is a digital reference tool comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections. It offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 [Adam Matthew]
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 is a unique resource which encompasses a variety of primary source materials spanning nearly 200 years of China's interaction with the West. This collection includes detailed observations and reports written by Western missionaries, business people, travelers, and government representatives. Some distinguishing features of this collection include its numerous historical maps and diverse material types ranging from photographs and drawings to periodical literature.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is an encyclopedic reference work that catalogues all of the world's known living languages.