East Asian Languages and Cultures
Need Help?
EALC 2725: Food in Japanese Culture
This page features resources for the course EALC-2725: Food in Japanese Culture. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Suggested Keywords:
- Japan* cooking
- Japan* cuisine
- Japan* culinary
- Japan* gastronomy
- Japan* AND "food habits"
- Japan* AND "food social aspects"
Books
Scholarly Journals
- Food and FoodwaysThis unique journal explores the powerful but often subtle ways in which food has shaped, and shapes, our lives socially, economically, politically, mentally, nutritionally, and morally.
- Gastronomica: The Journal of Critical Food StudiesWith cutting-edge research and explorations of the theoretical and methodological underpinnings of food studies, Gastronomica is your go-to resource for understanding the social, cultural, and historical dimensions of food.
- Japan ForumThe leading European journal in the multidisciplinary field of Japanese Studies, publishes original research in subject areas ranging from archaeology, language, literature, philosophy and culture to history, economics, politics, international relations and law.
- Journal of Ethnic Foods
This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Ethnic Foods provides comprehensive coverage about people’s consumption of food and aims to illuminate the benefits of traditional understanding and knowledge of foods developed over a long time. - The Journal of Japanese StudiesA multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary forum for communicating new information, interpretations, and research on Japan.
Media
- Japan Eats!A weekly podcast about Japanese food and culture, hosted and produced by Akiko Katayama, director of the New York Japanese Culinary Academy.
- Ox Tales PodcastDelicious and thought-provoking stories about food, served fresh from the Oxford Symposium on Food & Cookery.
- Culinary Arts Museum at Johnson & Wales UniversityA searchable collection of digital images of historic artifacts representing global culinary heritage.
- Cultural JapanA massive collection of digital resources on Japanese Culture from around the world.
- The Metropolitan Museum of ArtThe Met's searchable collection includes digital images of prints, sculptures, and objects representing global food culture and history.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsThe searchable NYPL Digital Collection features prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
- Culinary Journeys (S2E05): Shinobu Namae: KyotoCNN takes you on a Culinary Journey with two Michelin-star chef Shinobu Namae to discover how Japan's rich history of hospitality is simply a way of life. One of the traditions at the heart of Japanese hospitality is the tea ceremony.
- Culinary Journeys (S2E10): Masateru Imamura: Tohoku7 years after coming to Ishinomaki to volunteer after the 2011 tsunami, Chef Masateru Imamura now calls the city home; meet the farmers and fishermen who are the community's backbone.
- Feasts (Ep. 2): JapanFood writer and presenter Stefan Gates immerses himself in some of the most extraordinary feasts and festivals on earth. By joining ordinary people in these strange and wonderful distillations of their culture and beliefs, he hopes to gain a revelatory insight into how the world thinks and feels.
- Food Safari (S2E01): Japanese Food SafariHost and producer Maeve O'Meara discovers Japanese food.
- Great Big Story: Not Your Average Hot DogFeature on Noriki Tamura, creator of Japadog, a Canadian-based chain of hot dog stands featuring traditional Japanese flavours.
- The Royal RepastThe special dishes that once graced the tables of royalty are still found throughout Asia today. [...] The aesthetics of the cuisine in the Kingdom of the Ryukyu Islands (today part of Japan) and the imperial repasts of China are also visited.
- UNESCO’s list of Intangible Cultural Heritage and Humanity: WashokuIn 2013, the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization recognized traditional Japanese cuisine as an intangible cultural heritage to be preserved and perpetuated.