Business and Administration
business and management principles, including the fundamentals of accounting, human resources, leadership and strategy, marketing, and operations management
General Business
Encyclopedia of Management Theory by
In discussing a management topic, scholars, educators, practitioners, and the media often toss out the name of a theorist (Taylor, Simon, Weber) or make a sideways reference to a particular theory (bureaucracy, total quality management, groupthink) and move on, as if assuming their audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. This is often far from the case. Individuals are frequently forced to seek out a hodgepodge of sources varying in quality and presentation to provide an overview of a particular idea. This work is designed to serve as a core reference for anyone interested in the essentials of contemporary management theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses to thoughtfully apply them. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Features and Benefits: Two volumes containing over 280 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resources available on management theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. Standardized presentation format, organized into categories based on validity and importance, structures entries so that readers can assess the fundamentals, evolution, and impact of theories. To ease navigation between and among related entries, a Reader's Guide groups entries thematically and each entry is followed by Cross-References. In the electronic version, the Reader's Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to provide robust search-and-browse capabilities. An appendix with a Chronology of Management Theory allows readers to easily chart directions and trends in thought and theory from early times to the present. An appendix with Central Management Insights allows readers to easily understand, compare, and apply major theoretical messages of the field. Suggestions for Further Reading at the end of each entry guide readers to sources for more detailed research and discussion. Key themes include: Nature of Management Managing People, Personality, and Perception Managing Motivation Managing Interactions Managing Groups Managing Organizations Managing Environments Strategic Management Human Resources Management International Management and Diversity Managerial Decision Making, Ethics, and Creativity Management Education, Research, and Consulting Management of Operations, Quality, and Information Systems Management of Entrepreneurship Management of Learning and Change Management of Technology and Innovation Management and Leadership Management and Social / Environmental Issues PLUS: Appendix of Chronology of Management Theory PLUS: Appendix of Central Management Insights
Call Number: [HD30.15]ISBN: 9781412997829Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Management by
"The seventh edition of the Encyclopedia of Management presents a completely refreshed look at the vast and continually evolving field of management. Composed by business writers, Encyclopedia of Management, represents a substantial contribution to business and management reference. Students, scholars, and business practitioners alike will find a wealth of information in this fully revised source. Through 316 essays, readers will encounter thousands of terms, issues, and concepts such as: Angel Investors and Venture Capitalists, Benchmarking, Cloud Computing, Consumer Behavior, Corporate Social Responsibility, Globalization, Innovation, Mission and Vision Statements, New Product Development, Organizational Change and Development, Outsourcing and Offshoring, Privacy, Privacy Laws, and Workplace Privacy, Social Networking, and Women and Minorities in Management. This seventh edition also features a management glossary defining more than 200 key terms as well as approximately 235 charts and graphs. Fully indexed and contains a thematic table of contents organized under 18 different functional categories (such as Corporate Planning and Strategic Management; Entrepreneurship; Innovation and Technology; among others) to facilitate easy identification of topics. "
Call Number: [HD30.15]ISBN: 9781414459042Publication Date: 2012
Special Topics
Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent by
With more than 400 entries, these two volumes review research findings on giftedness, talent, and creativity and their effect on education, training, science and the arts, government policy, and everyday life. The Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent provides a balanced, objective assessment of the various perspectives on the nature of intelligence, innovation, and optimal states. This state-of-the-art resource covers all major facets of the field, including achievement motivation, artistic ability, creative personality, emotional intelligence, gender differences, genius, intelligence testing, learning styles, minority underrepresentation, multiple intelligences, musical ability, prodigies, scientists, self actualization, thinking skills, and more.
ISBN: 1412949718Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Leadership by
"The Encyclopedia of Leadership brings together for the first time everything that is known and truly matters about leadership as part of the human experience.
Developed by the award-winning editorial team at Berkshire Publishing Group, the Encyclopedia includes hundreds of articles, written by 280 leading scholars and experts from 17 countries, exploring leadership theories and leadership practice. Entries and sidebars show leadership in action—in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations.
The Encyclopedia of Leadership is an unprecedented learning resource. Scholars, students, professionals, and active citizens will turn to the Encyclopedia for guidance on the theory and practice of leadership, for the stories of great leaders, and for the tools and knowledge they need to lead in the 21st century. "
ISBN: 076192597XPublication Date: 2004
Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement by
The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement provides a detailed and comprehensive overview of green parties and movements, green issues, and green concepts. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on countries in the world where green parties or proto-parties have formed, green movement organizations, major international environmental conferences, and green concepts. This useful reference will be greatly valued by students, academics, journalists, and policymakers alike.
Call Number: Reference (UW) GE 195 P36 2007ISBN: 9780810856141Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by
There is currently no comprehensive reference work bringing both sports management and sports marketing all together in one place. This encyclopedia is designed to fill this gap in the literature. On the management side, it introduces principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance, leadership, governance, communication, business law and ethics, and human resource practices, all in the sports context. On the marketing side it explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and sport-related products and using sport as a platform for marketing non-sports products, as seen in celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.
Call Number: Reference (UW) GV 713 E53 2011 v.1-4ISBN: 9781412973823Publication Date: 2011
Dictionary and Introduction to Global Environmental Governance by
This unique dictionary and introduction to global environmental governance (GEG), written and compiled by two veterans of the international stage, provides a compilation of over 5000 terms, organizations and acronyms, drawn from hundreds of official sources. An introductory essay frames the major issues in global environmental governance and outlines the pitfalls of talking past one another when discussing the most critical of issues facing the planet. It challenges those who are concerned with the management of our planet and its inhabitants to understand and accept a vocabulary common to the often-opposing objectives sought in the many GEG instruments. The result is a practical tool that should find a central place on the desk of anyone involved in environmental management, development or sustainability issues anywhere in the world including the United Nations, government policy makers, NGOs and other stakeholder groups, the business community, and students and professionals.
Call Number: Reference (UW) HC 79 E5S2675 2007ISBN: 9781844074259Publication Date: 2007
The Encyclopedia of Restaurant Training by
Training is an investment for the future, the only foundation on which success can be built. Training delivers excellence in product and performance, elevating a good restaurant into a great one. Training will keep the skills of its employees and management sharp. But in no other industry is its absence or presence as obvious as it is in the food service industry. It is hard to find good, qualified employees, and even harder to keep them. What's the answer? Training! Constant training and re-enforcement keeps employees and management sharp and focused, and demonstrates the company cares enough to spend time and subsequently money on them. And that's precisely what this book will do for you. This is an encyclopedic out of the box employee training program for all positions in the food service industry. From orientating the new employee, maintaining performance standards, to detailed training outlines and checklists for all positions. This book will show you how to train your employees in all positions in the shortest amount of time, and lets you get back to your own job of running a profitable enterprise. One of the best features of this book is that the companion CD ROM contains the training outline for all positions so you can easily customize the text for your own use. In addition there are numerous training forms, checklists, and tests. The first part of the book will teach you how to develop training programs for food service employees, and how to train the trainer. The book is full of training tips, tactics and how tos that will show you proper presentation, and how to keep learners motivated both during and after the training. The second part of the book details specific job descriptions and detailed job performance skills for every position in a food service operation, from the general manager to dishwasher. There are study guides and tests for all positions. Some of the positions include General Manager, Kitchen Manager, Server, Dishwasher, Line Cook, Prep Cook, Bus Person, Host/Hostess, Bartender, Wine & Alcohol Service, Kitchen Steward, Food Safety, Employee Safety, Hotel Positions, etc. Specific instructions are provided for using equipment as well. The companion CD-ROM is included with the print version of this book; however is not available for download with the electronic version. It may be obtained separately by contacting Atlantic Publishing Group at sales@atlantic-pub.com Atlantic Publishing is a small, independent publishing company based in Ocala, Florida. Founded over twenty years ago in the company presidentâe(tm)s garage, Atlantic Publishing has grown to become a renowned resource for non-fiction books. Today, over 450 titles are in print covering subjects such as small business, healthy living, management, finance, careers, and real estate. Atlantic Publishing prides itself on producing award winning, high-quality manuals that give readers up-to-date, pertinent information, real-world examples, and case studies with expert advice. Every book has resources, contact information, and web sites of the products or companies discussed.
Call Number: Reference (UW) TX 911.3 T73A73 2005ISBN: 9780910627344Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science by
Operations Research: 1934-1941," 35, 1, 143-152; "British The goal of the Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Operational Research in World War II," 35, 3, 453-470; Management Science is to provide to decision makers and "U. S. Operations Research in World War II," 35, 6, 910-925; problem solvers in business, industry, government and and the 1984 article by Harold Lardner that appeared in academia a comprehensive overview of the wide range of Operations Research: "The Origin of Operational Research," ideas, methodologies, and synergistic forces that combine to 32, 2, 465-475. form the preeminent decision-aiding fields of operations re search and management science (OR/MS). To this end, we The Encyclopedia contains no entries that define the fields enlisted a distinguished international group of academics of operations research and management science. OR and MS and practitioners to contribute articles on subjects for are often equated to one another. If one defines them by the which they are renowned. methodologies they employ, the equation would probably The editors, working with the Encyclopedia's Editorial stand inspection. If one defines them by their historical Advisory Board, surveyed and divided OR/MS into specific developments and the classes of problems they encompass, topics that collectively encompass the foundations, applica the equation becomes fuzzy. The formalism OR grew out of tions, and emerging elements of this ever-changing field. We the operational problems of the British and U. s. military also wanted to establish the close associations that OR/MS efforts in World War II.
Call Number: Reference (UW) T 57.6 E53 1996ISBN: 0792395905Publication Date: 1996
Specialized Dictionaries
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by
Now students, instructors, and professionals everywhere can find clear, authoritative, explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms. Prepared by a noted encyclopedist, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business. The book explains accounting rules, legal terminology, slang and buzzwords, acronyms, management theories, historical figures, economic concepts, performance metrics, and more--all the crucial ideas that have transformed business practices and management science in the past 25 years. In addition to concise definitions, this indispensable reference includes longer entries for ideas needing more elaborate explanations, as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult words, special sections on usage, and a thesaurus of related words. While quick definitions abound online, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management supplies the depth and clarity lacking in most "webinitions." And it includes thousands of technical terms omitted from even premier unabridged dictionaries. From Abilene paradox to zero-based budgeting, this is an essential resource for anyone serious about business.
ISBN: 9780814420294Publication Date: 2013-04-10
The Ultimate Business Dictionary by
The Ultimate Business Dictionary provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of key business terminology and concepts available. Containing definitions of more than six thousand entries, The Ultimate Business Dictionary reflects the globalization of English as the lingua franca of business, and offers several unique features, including translations of all terms into Chinese, Japanese, French, German, and Spanish (Castilian and Latin American); abbreviations, acronyms, and s⟨concise biographical profiles of key business thinkers and leaders; listings of international stock exchanges and trade organizations; and a section on finance and accounting terms and ratios.
Call Number: Reference (UW) HF 1001 U45 2003ISBN: 9780738208213Publication Date: 2003-05-08
Copyright