Business and Administration
business and management principles, including the fundamentals of accounting, human resources, leadership and strategy, marketing, and operations management
Course Calendar Description
This seminar course allows students to discuss contemporary issues surrounding the Human Resource Management and Organizational Behaviour fields. This research based course provides an opportunity for students to explore practical solutions to resource management issues within organizations. The topics for research and discussion may include increasing diversity in the workplace, person-organization fit, workplace monitoring/privacy issues, motivation of employees, getting the best employees, deselection methodologies, change management, personal wellness/stress management, work-life balance, and personal accountability of managers in corporations and the public sector.
Reference Resources
The Employee Recruitment and Retention Handbook by
"Competition for skilled employees is fierce! This book provides comprehensive, practical advice to employers to get and keep the people they need. It covers such vital topics as what workers want--including a sense of making a real impact in their jobs and getting learning opportunities; why workers leave--sometimes just because they can (it’s so easy to find a new job), often because they feel undervalued or bored where they are; and what best-practice companies are doing to attract and retain the talent necessary to remain competitive. Expert Diane Arthur discusses: * Both traditional and new strategies, including a huge array of special incentives and perks * Online recruiting via sites like Monster.com or a company’s own Web site * Successful programs from Cisco Systems, Bank of Boston, Eli Lilly, McDonald’s, and dozens of other companies, including many small firms * Competency-based recruiting and interviewing, contingent workers, telecommuting and other alternative work arrangements, future trends, and more."
ISBN: 0814405525Publication Date: 2001-05-03
Handbook of Employee Selection by
The Handbook of Employee Selection summarizes the state of science and practice in the field of employee selection. Chapters in this book cover issues associated with measurement such as validity and reliability as well as practical concerns around the development of appropriate selection procedures and implementation of selection programs. Several chapters discuss the measurement of various constructs commonly used as predictors, and other chapters confront criterion measures that are used in test validation. Ethical and legal concerns are dealt with in another set of chapters and highlight the concerns of the employer as well as the test taker and the psychologist responsible for the testing program. Final sections of the book include chapters that focus on testing for certain types of jobs (e.g., blue collar jobs, supervisory jobs) and describe important milestones in the development of selection programs.
ISBN: 9780805864373Publication Date: 2010-03-16
Handbook of Human Resource Development by
Human Resource Development Relies Upon a Strong Educational Foundation In the Handbook of Human Resource Development, Neal Chalofsky, Tonette Rocco, and Michael Lane Morris have compiled a collection of chapters sponsored by the Academy of Human Resource Development to address the fundamental concepts and issues that HR professionals face daily. The chapters are written and supported by professionals who offer a wide range of experience and who represent the industry from varying international and demographic perspectives. Topics addressed form a comprehensive view of the HRD field and answer a number of key questions. Nationally and internationally, how does HRD stand with regard to academic study and research? What is its place in the professional world? What are the philosophies, values, and critical perspectives driving HRD forward? What theories, research initiatives, and other ideas are required to understand HRD and function successfully within this field? As the industry grows, what are the challenges and important issues that professionals expect to face? What hot topics are occupying these professionals now? The Handbook's insight and guidelines allows students and HR professionals to build a fundamental understanding of HRD as an industry, as a field of research, and for future professional success.
ISBN: 9781118839997Publication Date: 2014-10-07
The Encyclopedia of Restaurant Training by
Training is an investment for the future, the only foundation on which success can be built. Training delivers excellence in product and performance, elevating a good restaurant into a great one. Training will keep the skills of its employees and management sharp. But in no other industry is its absence or presence as obvious as it is in the food service industry. It is hard to find good, qualified employees, and even harder to keep them. In addition, unemployment levels are low, and competition for qualified workers is tough. What's the answer? Training! Constant training and re-enforcement keeps employees and management sharp and focused, and demonstrates the company cares enough to spend time and subsequently money on them. And that's precisely what this encyclopaedic book will do for you -- be your new training manager. The first part of the book will teach you how to develop training programs for food service employees, and how to train the trainer. The book is full of training tips, tactics and how-to's that will show you proper presentation, and how to keep learners motivated both during and after the training. The second part of the book details specific job descriptions and detailed job performance skills for every position in a food service operation, from the general manager to dishwasher. There are study guides and tests for all positions. Some of the positions include General Manager, Kitchen Manager, Server, Dishwasher, Line Cook, Prep Cook, Bus Person, Host/Hostess, Bartender, Wine & Alcohol Service, Kitchen Steward, Food Safety, Employee Safety, Hotel Positions, etc. Specific instructions are provided for using equipment as well.
Call Number: Reference (UW) TX 911.3 T73A73 2005ISBN: 9780910627344Publication Date: 2005-01-12
Key Reports
- Manitoba Labour Market Occupational Forecasts 2021-2025The findings in this report are based on labour market supply and demand projections for Manitoba occupations at the one-digit 2011 National Occupational Classification (NOC) level.
Employment Equity
Copyright