Business and Administration

business and management principles, including the fundamentals of accounting, human resources, leadership and strategy, marketing, and operations management

Career Handbook and National Occupational Classification (CANADA)

National Occupational Classification (NOC)
The National Occupational Classification (NOC) is Canada’s national system for describing occupations. You can search the NOC to find where an occupation is classified or to learn about its main duties, educational requirements or other useful information. The National Occupational Classification (NOC), provides a standardized language for describing the work performed by Canadians in the labour market. It gives statisticians, labour market analysts, career counselors, employers and individual job seekers a consistent way to collect data and describe and understand the nature of work.
more...less...
The NOC is used for:

defining and collecting statistics;
managing information databases;
analyzing labour market trends; and
extracting practical career planning information.
The NOC is developed and updated in partnership with Statistics Canada according to 5-year Census cycles. It is based on extensive occupational research and consultations conducted across the country, reflecting the evolution of the Canadian labour market.

Also, see Career Handbook.
Career Handbook - 2015
The Career Handbook is the counselling component of the National Occupational Classification (NOC) system.
more...less...
The Career Handbook provides global ratings assigned to occupations to further define skills, worker characteristics and other indicators related to occupations that are important for career exploration and informed career decision-making. This counselling resource is used by a wide range of professionals for many applications, and by individuals engaged in self-directed career planning.

The updated Career Handbook provides 923 occupational profiles for counselling based on NOC 2001 occupations and maintains the original descriptor scales, factors and presentation format. It includes information on aptitudes, interests, involvement with data/people/things, physical activities, environmental conditions, education/training indicators, career progression and work settings.

Standard Occupational Classification

US Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Standard Occupation Classification (SOC) - A valuable resource for constructing job descriptions in human resource management, "the 2010 Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) system is used by Federal statistical agencies to classify workers into occupational categories for the purpose of collecting, calculating, or disseminating data. All workers are classified into one of 840 detailed occupations according to their occupational definition. To facilitate classification, detailed occupations are combined to form 461 broad occupations, 97 minor groups, and 23 major groups. Detailed occupations in the SOC with similar job duties, and in some cases skills, education, and/or training, are grouped together."

Copyright

Databases Terms of Use