History
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Arts and Humanities Through the Eras byCall Number: NX 440 A787 2005 vs.1 - 5ISBN: 078765695XPublication Date: 2004-10-15This 5-volume set offers a fresh perspective on history by examining the development of the arts and humanities in historical time periods. Patterned after Gale's World Eras series, each volume combines chronologies, sidebars, primary documents, biographies, and critical narrative analysis to cover information typically left out of history books. Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. Each volume begins with an overview of the period and a chronology of major world events.
A dictionary of modern and contemporary art by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780191792229Publication Date: 2015- Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850 byCall Number: NX 452.5 R64E53 2004 v.1 - 2ISBN: 157958361XPublication Date: 2003-12-08In 850 analytical articles, this two-volume set explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.
- International bibliography of art.Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: Publication year:2008-"IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years. ProQuest will be building on this by adding 25,000 new records per year going forwards, ensuring unbroken coverage of indexed journals."
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by ISBN: 9780198604761Publication Date: 2004-06-10Ideal for students, picture researchers, and enthusiasts of all kinds, this third edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Art reaffirms the unrivalled position held by this authoritative one-volume guide to the art of the western world.
Timetables of the Arts and Literature by Call Number: NX 447.5 B76 1994ISBN: 9780062700698Publication Date: 1994-08-01Year by year, links literature, visual arts and music & dance with world events.
Finding Books - Subject Headings
- Art & design styles
- Art Canadian
- Art history - [Movement]
- Arts [geography]
- Indigenous art
- Public art [Name of country]
- [Movement] - History
- Artists, [Group] -- Canadae.g., Artists, Black - Canada
- [Group] Artists - Canadae.g., Women Artists - Canada
- [Medium] - [Geography]e.g., Painting - Canada
Finding Books - Call numbers
- E 99 E7Inuit Art
- N 6540Art in Canada
- NX 180The Arts in relation to other subjects, issues, A-Z
e.g., F4 - feminism
M3 - mass media
P67 - postcolonialism - NX 290 - 294Art history:
290: General
292: Before 1900
294: After 1900 - NX 440History, general
- NX 448Ancient, classical
- NX 449Medieval
- NX 449.5Modern
- NX 450-45416th - 19th Centuries
- NX 45620th Century
NX 456.5 -- By movements, A-Z
e.g., 456.5 D3 - Dadaism - NX 46021st Century
Finding Articles and Biographical Information
- Atlas: Database of Exhibits (Louvre)"Atlas is an English database of about 30,000 works of art exhibited in the Louvre. Along with an image of the artwork, basic information which is displayed on labels accompanying works of art, together with authoritative commentary and analysis by the curators and staff may be accessed."
- Ingernational Bibliography of Art"provides access to scholarly literature on western art. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years. IBA is updated frequently, and will add approximately 25,000 new records per year. ProQuest's IBA will continue to use the Getty Research Institute's editorial polices and thesaurus."
- OpenBibArtThe enhancement site "OpenBibArt" offers open access consultation, to all the bibliographical references from the Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie and from the Bibliographie d'Histoire de l'Art produced by INIST-CNRS. This site was designed for art historians, on an international scale, researchers and on a broader basis professionals and art lovers.