History
Online Encyclopedias
- Canadian Encyclopedia OnlineThe premiere encyclopedia for general Canadian topics.
Oxford Companion to Canadian History OnlineCall Number: Ref F 1006 O94 2004ISBN: 0195415590Publication Date: 2004A searchable database with 1,700 entries. This is the essential reference title for all those interested in Canadian History.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography OnlineCall Number: OnlineISBN: 0802090877... documents canadian persons who died between the years 1000 and 1930, or whose last known date of activity falls within these years.- Historical Dictionary of CanadaCall Number: eBook; print copy at REF F 1026 G69 2011ISBN: 081083541X"... a handy reference to students of Canadian studies, Canadian history, Canadian government, and colonization studies. Includes a bibliography, maps, and appendixes of Canadian government leaders." (publisher's description)
- Atlas of Canada OnlineCall Number: Ref Q 124.97 M43 2005... digitizations of every edition of The Atlas of Canada, starting in 1906 and continuing through an ongoing revision of the latest edition.
- Canada Year Book (CYB): Historical CollectionA wealth of historical data in Statistics Canada's annual Canada Year Book is available free on the Internet in the Canada Year Book Historical Collection. It covers the first century of Canada's history, from 1867 to 1967, with historical text, tables, charts and maps.
Suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings
- [Nation, Event, Religion, Concept, Discipline etc.] - History - Name of Century
- Canada - History - 19th Century
- Canada - Historiography
- [Province] -- History
Select Journals
Hover for details.
- American Historical Review"... the journal of record for the historical profession in the United States since 1895—the only journal that brings together scholarship from every major field of historical study." (publisher's description)
- American Review of Canadian Studies"... examines Canada and the Canadian point of view from an American perspective. Its articles - both interdisciplinary and disciplinary -explore Canada’s arts, cultures, economics, politics, history, and society, recognizing Canada’s distinctive position in the world." (publisher's description)
- Canada's HistoryA canadian history magazine.
- Canadian Historical Review"... offers an analysis of the ideas, people, and events that have molded Canadian society and institutions into their present state." (publisher's description)
- Canadian Journal of History"... a peer-reviewed scholarly journal of international stature published at the University of Saskatchewan since 1966. The Journal publishes high-quality articles, historiographical articles, review articles, and reviews concerning all countries and periods of history." (publisher's description)
- International Journal of Canadian Studies"... favours analyses that have a broad perspective and essays that will interest a readership from a wide variety of disciplines." (publisher's description)
- Journal of Canadian StudiesThe mandate "is first, to publish the best scholarship about Canadian history, culture and society, whether the researcher is junior or senior, living in Canada or abroad; and second, to serve as a vehicle for disseminating solid, original research about Canada that falls between the cracks of more narrowly defined journals." (publisher's description)
- Manitoba History"Covers Manitoba's Historical Society's events, programs, lecture series, dinners and field trips."
- The BeaverThe most popular canadian history magazine.
Primary Sources
- Library and Archives CanadaLibrary and Archives Canada offers a significant collection of digitized materials online, including images, film, audio, and textual material.
- Globe and Mail - Canada's HeritageThe complete contents of the G&M from 1844 to 2007.
- Peel's Prairie ProvincesOriginally published in print, this collection contains searchable records for a wide variety of sources from the Canadian prairies, including books, newspapers, and images (many of which are digitized).
- Bibliotheque et Archives Nationale du QuebecQuebec's national library and archives provide access to their materials, books, periodicals, images, audio-visuals, etc., searchable through their IRIS catalogue. Use the Advanced Search for best results.
- Archives of OntarioThe provincial archives of Ontario offer many digital documents, including art and photographs. Many materials are only available by visiting the archives.
- ManitobiaManitobia is a resource rich website devoted to the history of Manitoba during the period 1870-1920. Includes an excellent collection of historic newspapers, photographs, and maps, organized thematically.
- HeritageThe Heritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of Canadas significant archival fonds which were previously available only in micro-formats. This resource encompasses pages of primary-source documents and chronicles the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s. This collection represents a unique resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists.
- Canadiana OnlineHistorical manuscripts, government documents and serials.