It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"[This] ambitious and accessible resource intended for a general audience provides an amazingly organized overview of the minutia that has shaped everyday life from antiquity through the present day." (Booklist)
"Promotes discussion and dialogue across cultural, linguistic and disciplinary boundaries about the interactions of Jewish, Christian and Muslim culture during the period from the 4th through the 15th century C.E." (ulrichsweb.com)
The Dictionary of Old English Corpus is the textual databank for the ongoing Dictionary of Old English, currently completed to the letter F [U of W microfiche PE 279 D53]. Covering the period 600-1150 A.D., the DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (for 1100-1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.
The aim of this system was to provide a bibliographic dataset of secondary source material for medieval genealogy. It included books and journal articles that are held in the library collection of the FMG.
Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
The Centre for Medieval Studies was envisaged by its founders not just as an institutional umbrella for traditional departments but as a meeting point at which topics and issues for multiple disciplines would be explored and studied in depth. Medieval Studies in Toronto has an international reputation, resting on the wide-ranging interests of its faculty, the calibre and preparation of its graduates, and its outstanding library facilities. The Centre coordinates a program that includes various resources of the Pontifical Institute of Mediæval Studies and of a wide variety of participating departments and programs within the University of Toronto.
The Institute is home to the International Medieval Congress, Europe's largest annual gathering of medievalists, and the International Medieval Bibliography, the world's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages. Together, these unique enterprises enable you to gain practical as well as academic experience, whilst links with publishers, museums, and research projects provide opportunities for internships and work experience.
The Medieval Institute ranks among the top ten of the some 90 institutes, centers, and programs focusing on Medieval Studies in North America. The Institute’s reputation primarily rests on its annual International Congress, the largest annual professional meeting in the field; Medieval Institute Publications, which has published well over 200 books and journals since 1964; and its academic programs, which include a Master's Program and an undergraduate minor. Several research programs have made significant contributions to the reputation as well.
The Institute administers area certificates and minors in Medieval Studies, coordinates an active schedule of events and colloquia open to the public, and promotes interdisciplinary work among the many Indiana faculty and students engaged in medieval studies.
... extensive digital collection of original medieval manuscripts detailing travel, both real and imaginary, in the Middle Ages. The focus of the collection is on journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.
Written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students, this is an important online source for new and advanced students and scholars in medieval studies.