History
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Diasporas by ISBN: 9780306483219Publication Date: 2005The encyclopedia consists of two volumes covering three main sections: Diaspora Overviews covers over 20 ethnic groups that have experienced voluntary or forced immigration. These essays discuss the history behind the social, economic, and political reasons for leaving the original countries, and the cultures in the new places; Topics discusses the impact and assimilation that the immigrant cultures experience in their adopted cultures, including the arts they bring, the struggles they face, and some of the cities that are in the forefront of receiving immigrant cultures; Diaspora Communities include over 60 portraits of specific diaspora communities. Each portrait follows a standard outline to facilitate comparisons.
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West by ISBN: 9781412905503Publication Date: 2006-02-24
Suggested Subject Headings
- Canada -- Emigration and immigration -- History.Subdivide by century
- [Ethnic group] - Canada - Historye.g., Jews - Canada; Italians - Canada
Course-Specific Databases
- America: History and Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, and is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- Canadian Encyclopedia Online
- Early Canadiana Online
- Empire Online
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - History
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is a resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- Human Rights Search Engine
HuriSearch is a multilingual (77 languages) full-text search engine which crawls 5,000 human rights websites. It is useful for human rights monitors and researchers, students and academics, diplomats and persons working in international organisations, politicians and journalists. Specialized features include searches by organization, language, country of publication, human rights terms as well as any word or phrase found within the full text.
- Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, and researchers to electronic resources, such as books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps.
- Manitobia
Manitobia is a resource rich website devoted to the history of Manitoba during the period 1870-1920. - Project MUSE - History
Canadian Sources
- Exploration and SettlementLibrary and Archives Canada holds vast resources related to exploration, immigration, naturalization and citizenship. Some of the types of resources available include immigrant diaries, Geological Survey of Canada records, fur trade records, Hudson's Bay Company records, land grants, quarantine records, French and British colonial records, maps and artwork.
Advocacy
- Amnesty International -Refugees and MigrantsAmnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in more than 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights. Our vision is for every person to enjoy all the rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international human rights standards. We are independent of any government, political ideology, economic interest or religion and are funded mainly by our membership and public donations.
- Immigration Watch CanadaImmigration Watch Canada is an organization of Canadians who believe that immigration has to serve the interests of its own citizens. It cannot be turned into a social assistance program for other countries. It should never be a social engineering experiment that is conducted on Canadians.
- International Organization for MigrationIOM is committed to the principle that humane and orderly migration benefits migrants and society. As the leading international organization for migration, IOM acts with its partners in the international community to: Assist in meeting the growing operational challenges of migration management; Advance understanding of migration issues; Encourage social and economic development through migration; Uphold the human dignity and well-being of migrants.
Institutes
- Canadian Immigration Historical SocietyThe Canadian Immigration Historical Society (CIHS) was formed in 1986, when seventeen people met and agreed upon the need for a non-partisan organization gathering historians, political scientists, sociologists, academics, government officials and private individuals to develop and promote interest in Canadian immigration and refugee matters and history.
- Immigration History Research Center - University of MinnesotaThe Immigration History Research Center promotes interdisciplinary research on international migration, develops archives documenting immigrant and refugee life, especially in the U.S., and makes specialized scholarship accessible to students, teachers, and the public.
- The Migration Policy InstituteMPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the rising demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world. MPI is guided by the philosophy that international migration needs active and intelligent management. When such policies are in place and are responsibly administered, they bring benefits to immigrants and their families, communities of origin and destination, and sending and receiving countries.