Religion & Culture
Need Help?
REL 2802: Indigenous & Christian Encounter
This page features resources for the course REL-2802: Indigenous & Christian Encounter. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Citing Elders and Knowledge Keepers
The University of Toronto Libraries' Indigenous Research Methodologies provides a guide for appropriately citing elders and knowledge keepers in MLA, APA, and Chicago format. The guide also recommends several books on Indigenous research methods, all of which can be found by searching the Library catalogue.
Books
Scholarly Journals
- Wicazo Sa Review[A]n interdisciplinary journal devoted to the mission of assisting Indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits.
- Canadian Journal of Native StudiesAs a general focus, the journal publishes anthropological, historical, sociological, political, legal, education and cultural issues affecting First Nations people. Although the majority of articles deal with Indigenous peoples in Canada, it also publishes articles dealing with Indigenous peoples world-wide.
- American Indian Culture and Research JournalOne of the premier journals in Native American studies, [AICRJ] publishes original scholarship, commentaries, and book reviews on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
- Native American and Indigenous StudiesOfficial publication of The Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA), "an interdisciplinary, international membership-based organization comprised of scholars working in the fields of Native American and Indigenous Studies broadly defined."
Databases
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal)
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America [EBSCOhost]
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is the new name for Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. It contains citations dating from the sixteenth century to the present for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]
AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.