Religion & Culture
Need Help?
REL 3940 (4940): Sikhs in Canada
This page features resources for the course REL-3940/4940: Sikhs in Canada. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Suggested Keywords:
- Sikh Canadians
- Sikh diaspora
- Sikhs Canada ethnic identity
- Sikhs Canada social conditions
- Sikhs Canada government relations
Books
Scholarly Journals
- Sikh Formations: Religion, Culture, TheoryAn interdisciplinary and international journal which provides a critical forum for scholarly exploration of Sikh and Punjabi cultural formations. It does this within a dynamic setting that embraces the globalized context of Sikhs and Sikhism.
- South Asian DiasporaThe journal welcomes original theoretical and empirical articles from diverse disciplines on various themes including, but not limited to: the historical contexts of South Asian emigration; socio-cultural, religious, economic and political issues; communication and linkages between diasporas and homelands; research into the new cultural forms, including media and popular culture; micro-level ethnographic studies; and comparative studies of creative writings.
Databases
AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]
AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Cultural History is a digital reference tool comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections. It offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.