Research Guides: Religion & Culture: REL-2306: Modern Christianity

REL 2306: Christianity in the Modern Era

This page features resources for the course REL-2306: Christianity in the Modern Era. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.

Suggested Keywords:

Church history
Christianity modern period
Christianity and culture
Globalization religious aspects Christianity
Reformation Europe
Theology
- Also: Black theology, womanist theology, feminist theology, liberation theology, queer theology, etc.

Search Tips:

Add geographic locations or time periods to narrow down your search, e.g. "church history Latin America" or "theology 18th century".
Use the author code "au=" to search for works by a specific author, and the subject code "su:" to find works about a specific author. E.g.:
- books written by Dorothy Day: au="Day, Dorothy"
- books written about Martin Luther King Jr.: su:"King, Martin Luther"

Books

The Cambridge History of Christianity

Volume 5:
Reform and Expansion, 1500-1660

Volume 6:
Enlightenment, Reawakening and Revolution, 1660-1815

Volume 7:
World Christianities, 1815-1914

Volume 8:
World Christianities, 1914-2000

Scholarly Journals

Church History & Religious Culture
[P]ublishes research on all periods of the history of Christianity, and on any aspect of it. This includes, but is not limited to, articles that relate the history of Christianity and Christian theology to the history of philosophy, the history of science, the history of economics, or the history of law.
History of Religions
History of Religions strives to publish scholarship that reflects engagement with particular traditions, places, and times and yet also speaks to broader methodological and/or theoretical issues in the study of religion. Toward encouraging critical conversations in the field, HR also publishes review articles and comprehensive book reviews by distinguished authors.
Journal of Early Modern Christianity
JEMC contributes to interdisciplinary, interconfessional, and comparative research on early modern Christianity and primarily covers the period from 1450 to 1700.
The Journal of Religion
The Journal of Religion is one of the publications by which the Divinity School of The University of Chicago seeks to promote critical, hermeneutical, historical, and constructive inquiry into religion.

Databases

AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]

AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.