Religion & Culture
Need Help?
REL 2718: Buddhist Traditions in East Asia
This page features resources for the course REL-2718: Buddhist Traditions in East Asia. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Suggested Keywords:
- Buddhism China history
- Buddhism East Asia
- Buddhism Japan history
- Buddhism Korea history
- Mahayana Buddhism
- Zen Buddhism
Books
Scholarly Journals
-
Buddhist Studies ReviewPublishes articles on a variety of topics including different cultural areas where Buddhism exists or has existed and historical and contemporary aspects of Buddhism.
-
Contemporary BuddhismExamines the historical, doctrinal, literary, social, political, developments that have formed contemporary versions of Buddhism, East and West. In all this Buddhism is predicated as an inhabited and relevant action-influencing worldview.
-
The Eastern BuddhistThe Eastern Buddhist carries articles on all aspects of Buddhism as well as English translations of classical Buddhist texts and works by modern Buddhist thinkers.
-
Journal of Global BuddhismEstablished to promote the study of the globalization of Buddhism, both historical and contemporary, and its transnational and transcontinental interrelatedness.
Databases
AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]
AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Art and Buddhism: A Journey
This online exhibition from the Metropolitan Museum of Art explores Buddhist art across Asia.
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Cultural History is a digital reference tool comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections. It offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 [Adam Matthew]
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 is a unique resource which encompasses a variety of primary source materials spanning nearly 200 years of China's interaction with the West. This collection includes detailed observations and reports written by Western missionaries, business people, travelers, and government representatives. Some distinguishing features of this collection include its numerous historical maps and diverse material types ranging from photographs and drawings to periodical literature.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.