Religion & Culture

REL 3719 (4719): Sufism

This page features resources for the course REL-3719/4719: Sufism. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.

Suggested Keywords:

Sufism
Sufis
Mysticism Islam
Islam and literature

Keyword Modifiers:

Narrow your search by adding these modifiers to your keywords.

History
Origin
geographic locations, e.g. "North America"
time periods, e.g. "12th Century"

Scholarly Journals

Journal of Sufi Studies
Publishes peer-reviewed articles and book reviews on the historical, cultural, social, philosophical, political, anthropological, literary, artistic and other aspects of Sufism in all times and places. By promoting an understanding of the richly variegated Sufi tradition in both thought and practice and in its cultural and social contexts, the Journal makes a distinctive contribution to current scholarship on Sufism and its integration into the broader field of Islamic studies.
British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies
Aims to maintain a balance in coverage between the modern social sciences and the more traditional disciplines associated with Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies. The journal welcomes scholarly contributions on all aspects of the Middle East from the end of classical antiquity and the rise of Islam. Articles on the language, literature, history, politics, economics, anthropology, sociology, geography, and the religions and cultures of the region are encouraged.
Contemporary Islam: Dynamics of Muslim Life
Focuses on topical issues and takes an interdisciplinary approach that benefits from a cross-cultural perspective: articles will explore the relationship between Islam and its contemporary cultural, material, gender, economic, political, and religious expressions from different socio-scientific perspectives.
Islamic Studies
Publishes research articles, notes, comments, review-articles and book-reviews in all disciplines of Islamic Studies including the Qur’an, Hadith, Tafsir, Sirah, ‘Ilm al-Kalam, Jurisprudence, Fiqh, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Psychology, Anthropology, Sociology, Culture, Civilization, Economics, Language, Literature, History, Science and Technology.
Journal of Islamic Studies
Seeks to place Islam and the Islamic tradition as its central focus of academic inquiry and to encourage comprehensive consideration of its many facets; to provide a forum for the study of Islam and Muslim societies in their global context; to encourage interdisciplinary studies of the Islamic world that are crossnational and comparative; and to promote the diffusion, exchange and discussion of research findings.

Databases

AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]

AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.