Religion & Culture
Need Help?
REL 2121: Early Judaism
This page features reference books, scholarly journals, and databases that are generally helpful for studies in Religion and Culture. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Additional resources will be added in Winter 2023.
Scholarly Journals
- History of ReligionsHistory of Religions strives to publish scholarship that reflects engagement with particular traditions, places, and times and yet also speaks to broader methodological and/or theoretical issues in the study of religion. Toward encouraging critical conversations in the field, HR also publishes review articles and comprehensive book reviews by distinguished authors.
- Jewish Culture and HistoryJewish Culture and History is an inter-disciplinary journal which brings together the best of current research in Jewish social history with innovative work in Jewish cultural studies.
Databases
AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]
AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Online Resources
- The Jewish EncyclopediaDigital, unedited reproduction of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia (1901-1906) containing over 15,000 articles and illustrations. While it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History, it does contain an incredible amount of historical information.