Religion & Culture

REL 2703: Religions of India

This page features resources for the course REL-2703: Religions of India. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.

Suggested Keywords:

India religion
Hinduism
Sikhism
Jainism
Buddhism India History

Scholarly Journals

Journal of Indian Philosophy
The Journal of Indian Philosophy publishes articles on various aspects of classical and modern Indian thought. Coverage ranges from close analysis of individual philosophical texts to detailed annotated translations of texts. The journal also publishes more speculative discussions of philosophical issues based on a close reading of primary sources.
Religions of South Asia
Includes the latest research on distinctively South Asian or Indic religions - Hindu, Jaina, Buddhist and Sikh - religions which continue to influence the patterns of thought and ways of life of millions of people. These are traditions which are integral not only to the development of the cultural identities of India and South Asia, but to those of many diaspora communities globally.
History of Religions
History of Religions strives to publish scholarship that reflects engagement with particular traditions, places, and times and yet also speaks to broader methodological and/or theoretical issues in the study of religion. Toward encouraging critical conversations in the field, HR also publishes review articles and comprehensive book reviews by distinguished authors.
The Journal of Religion
The Journal of Religion is one of the publications by which the Divinity School of The University of Chicago seeks to promote critical, hermeneutical, historical, and constructive inquiry into religion.

Databases

AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]

AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.